Newbie Questions........Please help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hann01

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone,

I am an extreme novice in saltwater aquaria, I have a 55 gallon tank that has been running now for three weeks with 3 clownfish. My filtration consists of an undergravel filter w/2 powerheads, 1 Fluval 304 canister, and one seaclone 100 protein skimmer (which by the way, Im not sure if I am using it correctly). I have a few questions, and I would exteremey appreciate any pointers that anyone may have for me.

1. I have been reading quite a bit and have decided I do not want to use an undergravel filter anymore, since it has been running for 3 weeks, would it be ok for me to completely take it out of my tank without harming the fish? Will my fluval be ok by itself?

2. I am definitely considering another type of filter, at the moment a Magnum 350 with Biowheel or an Eheim wet/dry. I do not have too much money to spare, but at the same time I want something decent. Any suggestions would be helpful.

3. I purchased a Coral-Banded Shrimp today, it died within 5 minutes of introducing it into my tank :cry: . My fish have been in the tank since I set it up and they are fine, so I am not too sure what killed it. Again, any ideas helpful.

4. Last but not least, can I use any of the neat looking rocks that are abundant where I live? If so, can I mix them with live rock? Not sure what kind of rocks they are, I just know that they would look pretty in an aquarium.

If anyone can suggest anything that may help me on my journey, please do. I know I have much to learn, but I am willing to give it my best shot.

Hannah. :D

Go ahead and take out the UGF.

Instead of investing in another filter (you already have the Fluval), you could invest in more substrate like aragonite. Have you thought about making a DSB?