Newbie to salt

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishman

Aquarium Advice Addict
Well another newbie here. I have had a 55 gallon freshwater for about 3 years so somewhat familiar to the fish thing. However got a 125 gallon saltwater tank some months ago and now how it set up with the following:
~ 125 sealife system wet/dry
~mag 12 in the sump
~1 small pump about middle ways down in the tank for middle water rotation

I bought 3 damsels from a LFS the other day and have 2 yellow tail and 1 black and white stripe. Had them since 12/28 and all seemed to be doing well. Got up this morning and the black and white damsel had died. Tested the water and found the PH to be 78. I assumed this is what did him in but the other 2 are ok.
My question is, each day I add about 1/2 to 1 gallon of water with water conditioner to the sump. I had not been buffering the water so I assume this is why the PH was at 78. When I set it up it was around 80-81. Are you supposed to add buffer each time you add water to the sump? If so how much do you know to add? I added about 1/2 TSP this time. Im using the Kent marine super buffer.
Thanks

If you tested your PH in the AM try also testing it right before the lights go out on your normal day/night cycle. PH will rise during the day usually. A low PH in the morning implys poor oxygenation of the water.

I drip kalkwasser but thats only to keep my calcium levels up because of the corals I have. I dont buffer any of my other tanks when I replace evaporated water.

I have learned that sometimes damsels will kill each other also so if your others are doing good i have never buffered my tanks and have had good success you using RO water?