Newbie with a few questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

swjunkie

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello,
I am new to sw and have a few questions.
1) What is the best way to cycle my tank? And what equipment do I need to cycle? and how long should I cycle?
2) What is a RO/DI system and How does it work? Do I hook it up to my tap water or the tank?
3) Do I need a wet/dry vac?
4) I have well water is that real bad for a sw/reef tank?
5) I have heard about cleaning crews, What do they consist of?
I have a pretty good idea of the protein skimmer I will use although I could not tell you the brand right of the top of my head.
And I have a pretty good idea of the lights that I want.
The light system is a Oddysea 72" 785w metal halide system
3x175w double ended HQI 2000k
4x65w cp actinic blue 03
12 moon lights.
which brings me to question,
6) how far should I keep them above the water? and do these lights use alot of electricity?
7) How many power heads should I use?
Okay that is all I can think of right at this moment I am sure I will think of some more later.
I have 125g tank my measurements are
22" h x 18" w x 72" L
I want to keep a variety of things such as corals, mushrooms, LR and a few fishies. I dont want to be limited.
Also what is the best sand to use?
Any help would be appreciated
Melissa

Welcome!

1) Do a fishless cycle. All the equipment that will be running when the tank is stocked. Until the cycle is done.
2) An RO/DI unit is a really good water filter. It puts out pure water. Depending on the model you buy it hooks up to the faucet or water pipe directly. You will need a storage tank for the water(new clean garbage pails works fine.
3) I do not know why you would need a wet/dry vac.
4)It could be, depends on its quality.
5) Cleaning crews are snails, shrimp, crabs....