Newbie with a LOT of questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BonnieC

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am brand new to this and have been reading up and researching but have a lot of questions still. I know I am asking a lot, so please feel free to just answer what you like.

Here is a video of the tank to go along with my questions.
YouTube - Video 1.AVI

Within the next year or two, my hubby and I plan to buy a house. I am wanting to get a large tank (175-200 gallons) at that time. Since we will be moving, I obviously want to wait because I can't imagine you can move fish (or can you??).

So while researching I went into the local pet store and the guy there really seemed to know a lot about saltwater tanks. He had a nano tank display he had been working on. It was a small 10 gallon tank and I loved it so just bought it. Plus I figure it will make a nice quarantine tank in the future. He gave me some instructions but some things don't quite match up with what I'm reading. Plus I don't have any of the manuals for the parts.

The tank is 10 gallons. It is 6 weeks old and has done it's cycling and everything. To transport it home, he put the rocks on the ground and drained half the water into a bucket and I went home with that. I put the water back in and put the rocks back up and the fish seem to be doing fine. Today is day #2. The tank has seeding live rock and sand. It has 2 false clown fish, 1 yellow tail damsel, 1 blue cleaner neon goby, 1 gold striped cleaner goby, 2 firefish gobys, 1 yellow clown goby (who isn't very active or eating so Im worried about him), 1 yellow sea cucumber, 2 feather duster worms, 1 large turbo snail, and various little snails and hermit crabs. Okay my questions....

Rock and Sand questions