Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-15-2011, 03:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neeker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
Next to Sump...

Would it be possible, or even advisable, to place a sump next to a DT? I don't really want to drill through my new cabinets to put a sump in the traditional location under the tank and am hoping a sump placed next to the DT would be a viable alternative. I am not really concerned about the asthetic aspects so much as the biological filtration advantages of a sump. Feedback would be much appreciated!!!
__________________

__________________
Ok, I am officially hooked now...
neeker4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 04:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
sure why not place it above the main tank with it over flowing into the tank, if you add a refugium its probably better since it won't chop up and kill 95% of the critters through the return pump.

you would basically have the same concept as a HOB refugium and filter only larger
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 05:52 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
You shouldn't have to cut up the stand in most situations.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 10:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
Is your tank reef ready? I would imagine any tank stand would have some type of opening in the back
__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 11:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
some stands have shelves instead of a cabinet
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 12:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neeker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
Sorry for the lack of response, I have been rather busy at work and have been preoccupied at home. I don't have a traditional tank stand for my tank. I built some cabinets from Home Depot and have toped them with a long piece of 3/4" thick oak plywood that has been sanded and painted. It has no holes leading under the counter top and I don't really want to drill them because the whole process of finishing and installing the counter top was a pain in the ***. I was hoping to place a sump/refugium next to my 29G tank a i had a HOB sump/refugium but was not pleased with the job it was doing. i am still using it until I figure something else out. I have been looking at a 15G sump/refugium. Will this be sufficient for a 29G tank?
__________________
Ok, I am officially hooked now...
neeker4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 12:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
15g is efficient enough for a 29g tank
__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neeker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
Thanks Henry. My next question is the flow rate. I have been doing some reading, but I don't quite understand how flow rate works. Could someone please fill in the blanks for me based on my understanding. I am planning on using an overflow box and we will say the rate is 300gph. I assume I need to get a pump to push water back to the DT from the sump/refugium that has a flow rate of 300gph or better yes!?
__________________
Ok, I am officially hooked now...
neeker4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
if you're using a skimmer, it shouldn't be above your overflow box rate. If your overflow box rate is 300gph and your skimmer is 400gph, it'll eventually make the compartment lose water.

For the return pump, after head loss ( the decrease in power from pushing water up against gravity), it should be a little bit higher than your overflow box rate. This will guarantee you will not flood your sump. A ball value is placed on the return pipe to adjust the speed down or up.

head loss can usually be found with the pump manual
__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 02:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neeker4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 174
Ok, that was one of the areas I was confussed about, meaning the skimmer. Thank you for the advice Henry!
__________________

__________________
Ok, I am officially hooked now...
neeker4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.