Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2007, 08:46 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 108
Send a message via MSN to boges_au2006
Nitrate Help

I know this has been asked a million times before probably but i cant get it down.
i have a few fish in there and they seem to be doing fine but my Nitrate is waaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy to high its like 60 i think and it just wont go down no matter how many water changes i do. What do i do???
Both the nitrite and the ammonia are both 0 but nitrate wont go down.

Also i need to get my Ph up to. i dont have coral so it isnt a huge problem right now but its only like 7.2 how do i get this up?
Cheers
__________________

__________________
boges_au2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 08:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
How old is the tank, what kind of filter?
__________________

__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 108
Send a message via MSN to boges_au2006
umm i got the tank 2nd hand which had water in there already and fish. it was a bit filthy really. i have cleaned it all up and now its looking good. she had the tank for 12 months and i have had it for about 2-3 months now.

umm i have protein skimmer. couple of pumps for water movement and a Canister Filter. AHHHHHHH darn it. the canister filter is putting nitrates back in the water isnt it??
__________________
boges_au2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
Possibly. When was the last time you changed the media, and what is the media? Any bio balls or sponges?
__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:11 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 108
Send a message via MSN to boges_au2006
umm just trying to think whats in there. there is 4 levels. bio balls/ media/ these tube things and something else. maybe these need to be replaced then?? i had washed all these out beforehand but maybe the media is too old and just needs to be taken out?
__________________
boges_au2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
Bioballs are known for being nitrate factories. I would replace it with LR rubble.
__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:31 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 108
Send a message via MSN to boges_au2006
hmm really?? thats interesting. where do i get LR rubble?? just LFS?? do u just put it in the canister? so the bio balls. i also have these tube things which are similar. should i replace them with LR rubble to?? and the spongey filter media should i replace that with a new piece?
ps thanks for the help
__________________
boges_au2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 783
Yep just top by the LFS. Im not sure about the tube things.
__________________
Come Join The Dark Side
Marc118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:45 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 108
Send a message via MSN to boges_au2006
i might replace them as well. can i replace them all at once. or with this cause a spike in other levels? or should i jsut replace a few at a time?
__________________
boges_au2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 11:50 AM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
The tube things, are they ceramic rings? I would also replace the bioballs with LR rubble. How many sponges are in the filter?
You can raise your pH by adjusting a ph to point upward and make more surface ripple. O2 exchange occurs at the surface. Also, what kind of lid do you have?
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nitrate icedone Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 06-28-2009 01:16 AM
nitrate? timwag2001 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 15 03-01-2009 01:34 PM
How much NitrAte is too much? bronxbomber Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 02-11-2009 04:59 PM
Nitrate-Nitrogen or Total Nitrate johnkristie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-11-2008 10:06 PM
Nitrate!!!! milmokes Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 12-03-2004 11:41 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.