Nitrate probs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

clown

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all im new to saltwater but do know a lil about it
i have done cycled the tank and all i have a 14Gal biocube with 15 pound
of live rock and crushed coral for the bed i have a sallylightfoot crab ,2x Blue damsel's a camel shrimp and a banded shrimp and a small starfish its a hitch hiker from the rock its not even as big as a dime:rolleyes:. ok for my question in my tank for the last month i have seen some yelowish color stuff on my rocks can see in pic that is starting to turn to a greenish color now and im having probs with the nitrate level going up to 40 and cant seem to get it to drop i have done 10% water changes and the last was a 25% water change and still the same .:(

ph is 8.2
ammonia is 0ppm
nitrite is oppm
nitrate is 40

can anyone tell me what to do about this ?
or should i worry about it?
I do plan on puting in some soft coral,leathers,Shrooms and a anemone
and a clown fish or 2 at a later time.
i plan on taking out the 2 blue damsel's as i just put them in to
make sure the tank was ready and able to put in the live stock
thanks for taking the time to read about the problem i am having
any help would be greatfull

pics

here are the pic's

Attachments

• GEDC0631.jpg
    GEDC0631.jpg
    207.6 KB · Views: 70
  • GEDC0632.jpg
    GEDC0632.jpg
    215.1 KB · Views: 74
Last edited:
I can't answer everything but I can tell you that the crushed coral is most probably contributing to the excessive nitrates. Have you been cleaning it regularly? Crushed coral is often known for being a "nitrate factory" because food and waste that sinks in can't be reached by your clean up crew. You might want to look into replacing the substrate with aragonite sand if regular cleaning is not working.