Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-17-2013, 11:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
Nitrates!

My 125g fowlr has been up for roughly 3-4 mo. It was a previously setup yet severly neglected tank. After moving the tank a setting it up again I never really noticed a cycle everything always read 0 except nitrates.....off the chart. So it sat with no livestock for 1 1/2 mo with no change to parameters. I couldn't take it anymore so I slowly started adding fish. Now im into month 5 and the nitrates are still crazy high everything else is still 0. So I am peparing to do a major water change like 50%. My question is that enough? I do have a huge ball of chaeto in my sump. And is there any advice when doing a really big water change? I did invest in an RO/DI system but on the initial fill I just used treated tap water Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________

__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 11:25 AM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
If you moved the sand around then that would have caused a spike in the tank.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 11:57 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
No I haven't moved the sand around it had crushed coral when I moved it and I replaced it with sand when I moved it. I don't really have a spike per se the nitrates have just always been that high.
__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
I would imagine that large water changes would be enough. Are you running any sort of skimmer?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:34 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
Yes I am running a skimmer I got it from a friend not sure on the brand and I don't think its quite big enough for my tank but it does remove alot of nasty stuff. A reef octopus diablo or an aquamaxx is my next major purchase. Any pointers on doing a large water change? As long as my salinity and temp matches my DT it shouldn't stress my inhabitants too bad will it?
__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
If there's a large difference in the pH levels between the tank and additional water I would add the water at a fairly slow pace but other than that the temp and pH matching should be fine.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
I use IO reef crystals for my mix so my ph should stay fairly stable I will test just to make sure though. Thanks so much for your input.
__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 01:04 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 206
I am new to the hobby too, but sounds like you are on the right track. I would match the saline, temp and pH as closely as possible and do 30-50% water changes daily until my nitrates were less than 10 G00d Luck!
__________________
10 gallon fresh + 10 gallon salt
Tmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 01:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
epaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Grand Island, NE
Posts: 183
I hear ya but my RO recharges SO slowly I mean really I have been working on filling my 50 gal drum for 3 days. It takes forver to just fill the 4 gal pressure tank on my system and once that's depleted I have to sit and wait for it to recharge really frustrating.
__________________
epaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 08:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Tkey3425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 879
Quote:
Originally Posted by epaz View Post
I hear ya but my RO recharges SO slowly I mean really I have been working on filling my 50 gal drum for 3 days. It takes forver to just fill the 4 gal pressure tank on my system and once that's depleted I have to sit and wait for it to recharge really frustrating.
What is the GPD rating on it? Sounds like you either got a really slow membrane or you don't have enough water pressure. Mine shows 75 GPD but I can fill my 44 gallon can in about 6-7 hours @65 psi WP. Most membranes need about 50psi minimum that I've ever seen.
__________________

__________________
Tkey3425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.