Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-27-2013, 03:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 26
nitrites

Hi my tank has been running now for 3 days it has around 9kg of rock and it has just tested possitive for nitrites is that a good thing and mean its starting to cycle
__________________

__________________
gavh86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 04:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavh86 View Post
Hi my tank has been running now for 3 days it has around 9kg of rock and it has just tested possitive for nitrites is that a good thing and mean its starting to cycle
If you have nitrites you are In the second part of the cycle .
How big is your tank ?
What are you using for a ammonia source ?
__________________

__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 05:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
+1

You want ammonia to convert to nitrites. Those convert to nitrates. At the end of it all, you will have zero ammonia and nitrites and elevated nitrates. At that point, you should have a good beneficial bacteria base. Should take 4-6 weeks, no less unless you are adding some kind of bacteria supplement like Dr Tim's One & Only. I've used that three times now and my tanks cycled in less than a week.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 05:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 26
Its 130 litres what do i do next now i have nitrites in my tank and if i get some dr tim stuff how much do i put in ??
__________________
gavh86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 05:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavh86 View Post
Its 130 litres what do i do next now i have nitrites in my tank and if i get some dr tim stuff how much do i put in ??
If it's all going well just leave it !
In order to have nitrites you would have added something as a source of ammonia .
Just let nature do it's job ,
You're more then half way there .
__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 05:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 26
Ok thanks am going to wait till weekend then test for amonia is that ok to do ??
__________________
gavh86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 06:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
What are you using as an ammonia source? That usually involves dosing with ammonia or putting something like a shrimp in to deteriorate. Without those, the nitrites may have just come from die-off from the live rock. That will not be enough to keep the cycle going .

Dr Tim's sells in different amounts for different sized tanks. Their site will explain that. It is also a good idea to read up on how the saltwater cycle works. That way you can know what to expect. Their site does that too, but there are a lot of other places online too.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 06:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 26
I have just 9kg of live rock and 2 hermit crabs
__________________
gavh86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 06:51 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Then you have no ammonia source. To cycle a saltwater tank, you need one. Go to the grocery store, buy a fresh shrimp from the meat counter , throw it in your tank (wrapped in stocking or something so it does not get messy). As it decomposes, it releases ammonia. That will convert to nitrites. Those will,in turn, convert to nitrates. It all happens on its own, it just takes time.

Look it up online and it will make much more sense.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 06:52 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
Also...you have hermit crabs? What are they eating?
__________________

__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.