Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-14-2012, 02:22 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Ok. The shrimp was placed in the tank on 3/12/2012 at 11:00 am PST. On the morning of 3/13/2012, I saw an exoskeleton. The shrimp, patty, is Active and has already eaten some of the aiptasia. They are very small. So, i will try your suggestion first. I am in the process of setting up a 10 gallon quarantine tank. Do I need to let that cycle first before allowing the shrimp in there? The salinity, Ph and temp will all be the same and I will have a power filter on it.
__________________

__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 07:31 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
If you take a small amount of rock out of the display tank and put in your QT you will not need to cycle it. You can also use some water taken from the display tank to fill the QT which will result in almost identical parameters (temp may change a bit while transferring the water).

I put a bag of Matrix in my sump and leave there are all times. That way it is populated with bacteria. When I need a QT, I take that bag and put it in the back of a hang on the back filter that I put on the QT. When I am done with the QT the bag goes back in my sump to maintain the bacteria. One word of caution though, if you medicate the QT at all, don't put the matrix back in the sump. Toss it and buy some more.
__________________

__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 12:32 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdnelson99
If you take a small amount of rock out of the display tank and put in your QT you will not need to cycle it. You can also use some water taken from the display tank to fill the QT which will result in almost identical parameters (temp may change a bit while transferring the water).

I put a bag of Matrix in my sump and leave there are all times. That way it is populated with bacteria. When I need a QT, I take that bag and put it in the back of a hang on the back filter that I put on the QT. When I am done with the QT the bag goes back in my sump to maintain the bacteria. One word of caution though, if you medicate the QT at all, don't put the matrix back in the sump. Toss it and buy some more.
Ok. Thanks. I will place a LR in today. I discovered the heater doesn't shut off on my QT. I will be getting a new heater for it today. Also, I do not have a sump on my display tank. We will be getting a protein skimmer soon, but as of right now my only filtration is bio and a power head. I am also not 100% sure that my display tank has completed its cycle, so placing a rock from the display tank into QT may not do much. I will try it though. I would really like to have the QT up and ready. Thanks again.
__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 02:05 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Tank update.

I am in the process of getting my QT and water change water to heat and get balanced. So, my peppermint shrimp is still in the display tank. Current test readings

Temp 82
Salinity 1.025
Ph 8.1
Alkalinity 3.1 meq/l
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 20

The tank was started 3/5/12
Ammonia and nitrites have never risen. I have not done a water change to date.

To make sure my tank is cycled, I will be placing the shrimp into the QT, then I will add some ammonia to the display tank. After I am sure the tank is cycled, I will place the shrimp back into the DT.

Should I do a partial water change before I do the ammonia process?
__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:47 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
Just add the ammonia no need to change water that would just slow the cycle.. Just keep topped up to maintain salinity and when fully cycled do a 40-50% pwc.
__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:56 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Will do, thanks.
__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 07:10 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunV View Post
Tank update.

I am in the process of getting my QT and water change water to heat and get balanced. So, my peppermint shrimp is still in the display tank. Current test readings

Temp 82
Salinity 1.025
Ph 8.1
Alkalinity 3.1 meq/l
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 20

The tank was started 3/5/12
Ammonia and nitrites have never risen. I have not done a water change to date.

To make sure my tank is cycled, I will be placing the shrimp into the QT, then I will add some ammonia to the display tank. After I am sure the tank is cycled, I will place the shrimp back into the DT.

Should I do a partial water change before I do the ammonia process?
If the shrimp is still alive, there is enough bennificial bacteria to process what it produces. Just keep a close eye on your QT while it is in there and if you see any ammonia or nitrite do a water change in the QT. When you dose the Display Tank, you need to be sure you are using PURE ammonia. Ace Hardware brand "Janitorial Strength" is pure. If you want to use a different brand make sure you shake the bottle and look for bubbles. If there are bubbles it isn't pure. Don't over dose the tank. Bring it to 4 ppm and then check AM, Trite and Trate 24 hours later. If you see no AM and/or Trite but Trate has risen, you are cycled and do the water changes mentioned above.
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 01:35 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Thank you. My shrimp died some time late last night. =(. I tested the water this morning with all of the same results as yesterday. I purchased Blue Ribbon Clear Ammonia at True Value Hardware. I shook the product, no bubbles. I am unclear as to why the shrimp died unless there was not enough bacteria in the water to keep it alive or it could have run out of food. My LFS stated the shrimp would have enough food from my tank for weeks. I had small aiptasia which are now all gone and I saw some amphipods crawling around the rock. I do not see them anymore either. The shrimp was in the tank for 4 days. I am heading over to LFS with a water sample. I hope we can get this figured out. We don't want any casualties. We are animal activists and would hate to be the cause of death to any animal. Needless to say, losing our first inhabitant in 4 days is very discouraging.
__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 01:46 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
First of all, are you sure it died and didn't molt? Was there a body in the shell or just the shell? It is easy to mistake a molt for a dead shrimp. Fist time my fire shrimp did it I was sure it had died.

If you are going to pursue this hobby you need to accept that while you do everything to give the animals a good life, there will be some loses. If just goes with the territory. I would bet there is not one person on this or any other forum who could honestly tell you they have had no loses. Being responsible and caring for them to the best of our ability is all we can do.

If the shrimp did pass, I am sorry for the lose. It is always sad. However, if that is what happened, it gives you the opportunity to make sure the tank is fully cycled before adding any more livestock. Take your time and research. This is a very gratifying hobby if you are patient. If you get in a hurry, it becomes very difficult. As has been said time and again, "Only bad things happen quick".
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 01:55 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Yes, the shrimp passed. The first morning it had molted and to me it was vey obviously an exoskeleton. This time however, it was no exoskeleton. Thank you for your sympathy. I know losses will happen and I know we will do our best to take care of the animals. We are trying to take everything really slowly. The shrimp was only placed in the tank to get rid of the aiptasia (which worked beautifully). I was actually planning on taking the shrimp to back to the LFS today while I finished getting the QT tank ready and to make sure the DT had cycled. I know this can be an extremely gratifying hobby. But I also know that there is a lot to learn and a ton of contradictory information out there. I am just glad there is a great forum to get advice from. Thanks again and I am sure I will have more questions.
__________________

__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, nitrogen cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Typical noob stuck with fishIN cycle Ghostriderphoto Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 112 04-18-2012 10:12 PM
New 55Gal cycle with seeding? kyle6367 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 19 03-28-2012 10:52 AM
Fishless Cycle Params - Please Review thegundog Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 144 03-23-2012 12:21 AM
My Fish In Cycle :) Jess1ca Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 785 03-21-2012 06:08 PM
Questioning my fishless cycle currently tnice17 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 53 03-13-2012 04:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.