Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-16-2012, 02:07 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Well you have the two most important things down pat. You care about the animals you keep and you know enough to ask questions. The rest is easy and just takes some time. As you read posts and talk to people at lfs or at local reef clubs, you will come to know who you can trust and who you can't. Not all lfs are looking out for you or the animals but look out for the bottom line. Others are great. I have one local lfs who is fantastic for that reason. She gives me great advice. I also take part in our local reef club and all of those people are fantastic. Good luck. I know you will have a great and happy tank soon.
__________________

__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 07:31 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Ok. Just got back from my LFS. He is unclear as to why the shrimp died. He tested the water and said everything looks fine. He claims that my tank is already cycled because of the LR and LS.

I told him I was setting up a QT tank and he informed me that I will not need to cycle this tank. Just to keep salinity, ph and temp the same as my other tank. This seems really bizarre to me. When I put a fish in the QT won't it release ammonia, causing my nitrites to rise and then the nitrates to rise. It seems like if I followed his logic, then I would be cycling the tank using the fish. This is something I don't think I should do. What I thought needed to happen is that I start the QT with ammonia and get the cycle going before I put fish in it. I am following the SW article on the fishless cycle. This seems necessary to me. Am I accurate in thinking so? Or is the FLS owner right in that. Do not need to cycle to QT?
__________________

__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 09:05 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
First, in the defense of the LFS I would say he is right to a degree but I would not go that way. You can do as he says but there is a step missing. If you do that you would have to do constant water changes to rid the QT of ammonia, nitrite and nitrate so it will not harm the fish. The big drawback is that instead of constantly converting the ammonia and nitrite whenever ANY is present, it will build up until you do a water change each time. That is not healthy for the livestock.

Here is what I would do if I were in your shoes. Since you have no livestock at the moment don't worry about the QT yet. Verify that the DT has cycled by dosing a bit of ammonia and checking it 24 hours later. If all you see is Nitrate, you are cycled. Next, since you do not have a sump, I would pick a small piece of rock that you will use for your QT. It can be moved back and forth between the DT to QT whenever you need to set up the QT. As long as you don't need to medicate the QT you can always put that rock back in the display when you are done with the QT of fish purchase. That is my story and I am sticking too it.
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 11:32 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
Instead of using a piece of LR get a cheap job filter and that way when your done with the qt you can throw away the filter media. Replace with new media and hang back on the display so it is cycled and ready to go next time you need the qt. And it wouldn't hurt to use a qt even for your first fish to help keep parasites out of display.
__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 03:11 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Thank you both for your advice. We have started the QT and are doing the fishless cycle using ammonia. We picked up a filter sponge to use in the QT. we will also get a rock to place in there too. We are intending to have the QT set up all the time so that we are always ready for it.m from what I have read, the fish, inverts, etc should be quarantined for 3-4 weeks. Since we are planning on adding the items to our tank slowly, we think it would be a good idea to have the QT available at all times. At least for now.
__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 04:17 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
It's not necessary to keep the qt tank running it you can just run the sponge on the display till the qt is needed. There is very little beneficial bacteria in the water it is mostly in the filter, so you can take a filter off the display with fresh water and qt is fully cycled. Saves having to run a heater of even keep up maintaing a qt with nothing in it. I keep a few sponges in my sump just in case of an emergency .... Or a spontaneous purchase at the Lfs.

I can get a qt up and running in 10 mins
__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:54 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Ok. Thanks. We don't have a filter or sump running on our DT, just bio filtration right now. We will get a protein skimmer when we get into corals. Right now we are just trying to make sure our display tank is cycled, and our qt is ready for our first inhabitants. We picked up a LR today and put it in the qt to provide bacteria. As I placed the rock in, out fell a shell with a dwarf yellow tip hermit. We got him out of the qt because the ammonia is high. After inspecting for bugs, we placed him in our DT with dried seaweed. Our algae are not spreading rapidly because we are not running our lights yet. This tank seems cycled, my LFS told me to never add ammonia to the tank because it would be very difficult to get rid of and would kill my live rock. This seems odd to me too. How is adding tiny amounts of pure ammonia any different than when a fish creates ammonia? Won't the ammonia turn to nitrites and then nitrates if there is bacteria in the water? I am trying out the ammonia fishless cycle on the QT. thanks again for your help.
__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 08:29 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunV
Ok. Thanks. We don't have a filter or sump running on our DT, just bio filtration right now. We will get a protein skimmer when we get into corals. Right now we are just trying to make sure our display tank is cycled, and our qt is ready for our first inhabitants. We picked up a LR today and put it in the qt to provide bacteria. As I placed the rock in, out fell a shell with a dwarf yellow tip hermit. We got him out of the qt because the ammonia is high. After inspecting for bugs, we placed him in our DT with dried seaweed. Our algae are not spreading rapidly because we are not running our lights yet. This tank seems cycled, my LFS told me to never add ammonia to the tank because it would be very difficult to get rid of and would kill my live rock. This seems odd to me too. How is adding tiny amounts of pure ammonia any different than when a fish creates ammonia? Won't the ammonia turn to nitrites and then nitrates if there is bacteria in the water? I am trying out the ammonia fishless cycle on the QT. thanks again for your help.
I would still add ammonia, I don't think you should fully trust your Lfs. It is piece of mind knowing for sure. And saves alot of water changes if its not
__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:22 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
ShaunV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Posts: 50
Ya, I don't trust my LFS much. That is why everything he tells me that I believe to be wrong, I will post here to double check. I have not done the ammonia in the DT yes, but I did run a test this morning.

Temp 78
Salinity 1.024
Ph 8.1
Alkalinity, 2.9 meq/l
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates 30

Do you think I need to do a PWC? Or should I just add the ammonia? Also, when you say a small amount of ammonia, do you mean something like 1ml? I have a 20 gallon tank.
__________________
ShaunV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:05 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Reeffanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa canada
Posts: 380
Dose up to about 4 or 5 ppm ammonia and check 24 hour later and if you are down to 0 you are cycled. If not dose back up and try again when you have no ammonia or nitrites 24 hours later do a 40-50 pwc and then you can safely add fish. No need to pwc till ur done
__________________

__________________
Reeffanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, nitrogen cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Typical noob stuck with fishIN cycle Ghostriderphoto Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 112 04-18-2012 10:12 PM
New 55Gal cycle with seeding? kyle6367 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 19 03-28-2012 10:52 AM
Fishless Cycle Params - Please Review thegundog Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 144 03-23-2012 12:21 AM
My Fish In Cycle :) Jess1ca Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 785 03-21-2012 06:08 PM
Questioning my fishless cycle currently tnice17 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 53 03-13-2012 04:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.