Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-14-2012, 03:59 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Nitrogen cycle

Hello everyone. I am new to the saltwater world and I am having a little trouble understanding the nitrogen cycle. I started my tank on 3/5/2012 with live rock and live sand. I have been testing my water everyday and have found that I am always getting a reading of 0 for ammonia and nitrites. Over the last 3 days, my nitrates level has been rising and I am currently reading about 15ppm. I don't understand how my nitrates level can be rising when I have not seen any ammonia or nitrites. Is this even possible? It seems as though my tank would not cycle without ammonia and nitrites going up first. Am I missing something here? I do see life I the tank. I see amphipods, a couple of very tiny feather dusters that came in on my LR and, unfortunately, very small aiptasia, and what I think is small spaghetti worms. I have placed a peppermint shrimp in on 3/12/2012 to hopefully get rid of the aiptasia. Thanks in advance for any responses.

Old 03-14-2012, 10:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

What did you use as an ammonia source to cycle the tank?

Old 03-14-2012, 11:06 AM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award

We have a good article about it in our SW articles section.

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank

AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 11:18 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reeffanman
What did you use as an ammonia source to cycle the tank?
I used 30# LS and 22# of LR. I was told I would not need to add anything more than that, just to be patient.