Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-02-2012, 12:16 PM   #11
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
Depends on what your readings are. If the ammonia and nitrites are at 0ppm and nitrates are high, then do a water change. If you still have ammonia or nitrites you need to continue dosing ammonia.
__________________

spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:36 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
Depends on what your readings are. If the ammonia and nitrites are at 0ppm and nitrates are high, then do a water change. If you still have ammonia or nitrites you need to continue dosing ammonia.
Continue dosing-or leave the shrimp in correct?

Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrites 0.8mg
__________________

__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:05 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 177
I have read both no water changes during a cycle and yes do water changes during cycles i have read both of them working out. Dont know if one or the other makes it go by any faster
__________________
VinnyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:41 PM   #14
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
keep dosing ammonia. The cycle isnt done yet. I like to use pure ammonia, that way you can precisely control the amount.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:52 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
keep dosing ammonia. The cycle isnt done yet. I like to use pure ammonia, that way you can precisely control the amount.
Hmmm where do you get pure ammonia?
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:03 PM   #16
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
I got mine at Ace hardware. You just have to make sure there are no surfactants in it.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:12 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
I got mine at Ace hardware. You just have to make sure there are no surfactants in it.
Okayyy!
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:13 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
I can see the next Q now. How can I tell?
Shake the $h!t out of the bottle then look inside. Surface bubbles should disappear immediately if no surfactants present. Bubbles = not good.
__________________

__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, rim, shrimp

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.