Non eheim or fluval

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Adamski

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi

I was wondering if anyone has any experiences of non eheim/fluval external filters? I have been researching my planned set up for about 6 months and those two brands seem the standard

what do you plan to do with it? are you talking about canister filters or just HOB filters? i have a fluval fx5 that i use currently on my setup till i get my sump im working on going. it does its job and cycles through my 55 gallon 4 times per hour. they do require alot of cleaning if you dont want your nitrates to explode

External canisters. I have plenty of time and don't mind the cleaning side of things (actually enjoy it) I've been checking prices are there are similar spec filters than are vastly cheaper. I know you get what you pay for etc but just after opinions on the other brands on the market

if you want a canister filter, get the fluval. like i said with my fx5. its easy to take apart and clean just a hassle to do it so regularly. mines going for sale soon but your just a bit far away to make the price worth it with shipping lol.

Lol. I've looked at those and they look great however my kids want to go to Disney land that kind of money will not help! I'm keen to try a different brand and review it so others may save a few pennies (or dimes!)

Thanks for your help. I'm going to shop around and bare your suggestion in mind. My friend uses tetratech ex range on his marine and tropical tanks and loves them

Adamski,

I have just gone through what you are doing. I can give you my 2 cents ( pence in your case )

I have a 29g tall and a 125g 72" wide tank(s), both are planted community.
29g is low tech lighting and the 125 gis high tech LED lighting.

Filter debates will go on till the end of time.

My experience: