noob here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smendrix

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a noob to the site - and about a one year noob to the hobby. I've enjoyed "lurking" on this site for about a month now - seems like a lot of you guys, gals are real pro's. Needless to say i've been trying to soak in your knowledge all the while, but finally i have a question of my own to ask.

Kind of a 2 prong question on the algae's in my 75 gal fowlr. The parameters in my tank are about ideal;

ammonia, trites, trates, and phosphates undetectable (phosphates might be .05ppm or 0 my test kit is kind of hard to distinguish.)

Calcium is at 420 ppm
alkalinity at 6
dkh ph at 8.2
temp 80 degrees
salinity 1.022

lighting 4x65 watt pc two day light two actinics brand new coralife bulbs ( i know maybe a bit underlit for the reef im building towards)

30 lbs roughly of bali live rock half covered in really nice pinks purples reds and greens.

75 gallon sump with built in skimmer-

My first problem - I haven't noticed my coraline algea spreading like most healthy tanks do. I've kept a pretty close eye on my parameters all in hopes of seeing some nice color on a piece of base rock i put in there. However, i do have one sign of spreading and that is two small specs on my powerheads and one spec on my spillover box. Could this be the start of it spreading to other parts or is something wrong here?

On the flip side of that problem - since I've changed bulbs and started dosing lime water I've noticed a new kind of algae forming in my tank. Its the light green color that I was used to getting before but now im not able to remove it with my mag float and im having to remove it as if it were coraline.

My god i just caught a glimpse of the length of this post - Im very sorry.
Any help will be soooo appreciated.

regards