Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-16-2005, 04:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Novice to Saltwater Tanks

I am a complete novice to saltwater tanks, I am experienced with freshwater, coldwater but not saltwater. Iam thinking of setting up a saltwater tank but I have a lot of worries and concerns. First of all, I don't know how to setup or start a saltwater tank, I don't know which fish are for which sized tank (no idea if stocking is different for saltwater tanks) and I don't know how to maintain a saltwater tank. I am thinking of starting small, by doing a 20 gallon saltwater and get bigger when I feel more comfortable and gain more experience. My major concern is, I am worried about maintain of a saltwater tank because I have heard a lot of stories on how they are hard to maintain and are very time consuming, I don't know how true this is, but I am worried that if I make a slight mistake I will kill the fish and from the prices I have seen at the pet shop, saltwater fish are definetly not cheap. What is your advice for me? OH, yes, I read the sticky but I still need your help.

Thank you all in advance for your posts / advice on this topic.

Old 07-16-2005, 05:10 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek