Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-18-2009, 11:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: jax fl
Posts: 40
o.k not sure if i'm doing right

starting a 10g tank it's been 12 days i got the dead shrimp and some live rock and 20lbs of live sand.i have yet to get any ammonia levels and my ph just drop too 7.6.is tis normal?i woulda thought i would be showing some ammonia by now and why is my ph dropping?
__________________

__________________
jduny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 11:46 PM   #2
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Was the live rock cured?
__________________

__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 11:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: jax fl
Posts: 40
i beleive so. i bought from a fish store and she said i should just put it in the tank.she took it out of a tank with a few clowns in it so i'm guessing yes
__________________
jduny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 03:06 AM   #4
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
If you are testing with a good liquid test and started with cured rock, you may very well be onto the Nitrite portion of the cycle process. Have you tested for NO2? I have no idea about the pH change, but I'm sure someone will be able to advise.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 04:45 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Hang in there and check no2 as above. It's normal for the PH to drop during a cycle period do to the break down of DOS in the tank. Yor fresh LR may be the reason for the late ammonia spike.
TC
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 07:34 AM   #6
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by HN1 View Post
If you are testing with a good liquid test and started with cured rock, you may very well be onto the Nitrite portion of the cycle process. Have you tested for NO2?

If your rock was fully cured and you didn't cause any die off transporting it to the new tank then you may not see any cycle at all. Fully cured rock is capable of fulfilling the entire biological cycle not just the ammonia portion.

What type of live sand did you buy?

What about your other parameters? Alk, Calcium, etc?
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 11:12 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: jax fl
Posts: 40
no2=0
no3=0
haven't check alk or ca yet.is it really possible to skip the cycle?i haven't read that any where else.not that i'm doubting you.if it is do you think i should get a damsel or 2 now?
__________________
jduny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 11:51 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
If you have fully cured LR and enough of it, you can bypass the cycle. Remember, the LR and sand is where your beneficial bacteria resides. If you have enough of that, it will convert the ammonia to nitrItes to nitrAtes.
I would skip the damsels unless that is what you want in your tank.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 12:15 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: jax fl
Posts: 40
^starting slow and inexpensive so i thought a damsel to start. i haven't seen any no2-or no3 so that's baffling me a little.
__________________
jduny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 12:31 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
What kind of test kits are you using? If you don't see ammonia or nitrItes from the shrimp (should show up around day 4-7, or so), you may already have a colony of bacteria that is already converting them. The nitrAtes should be showing up, I wouldn't worry about the pH yet either. Can you get your LFS to test your water, just to confirm?
By the way, damsels can be pretty nasty to new tank mates once they have established their territories.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.