obvious answer?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

deli_conker

Aquarium Advice Addict
New to SW and just wondering...

Is 'live sand' just sand that has nitrifying bacteria on it (ie cycled through the nitrogen cycle)?

Is live rock the same or is it 'special' somehow? What type of rock is live rock? And why would I want one type (ie fiji, keys, etc.) over a another?

I'm also new to this...and I'm very interested in an answer to your question about live rock... I'm looking into liverocks.com (Florida Keys rock) due to "looks" - but there are other differences, density of the rock, number of crevices, maybe even the types of critters that piggyback their way to your aquarium..not sure but I'm sure the people on this forum will let us know.

The answer is yes. The advantage to LR is it is has pores and allows hiding spots for PODS.. etc.. I personally like to use LR and then use playsand (argon sand) for my substrate. The LR will seed the sand.