OK I am becoming a LITTLE more educated by reading for a few hours.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jlessary

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok so I got my tank and baught the LR and stuck it in the tank now comes the confusing part to me. I have read the articles on curing LR and cycling the tank. Maybe I am stupid but how do I know if the tank is cycling or not? When I test the water the levels will just be higher or something? I feel like an idiot asking but I am VERY new to this and don't want to mess it up.
Also I have a "hitchhiker" on my live rock I am not sure what it is and don't know what I should do about it. It is psoted in the SW&Reef ID forum. Any help there would be great as well.

(If you reply to this thread please check back everyso often I will post any new questions or comments here.)

Don't worry about asking questions, we all had the same ones as you do.
You will want to get a test kit. I like the API saltwater test kit for starters. It has your ammonia, nitrIte , nitrAte and pH tests (don't worry about the pH testing until your cycle is complete).
If you have cured LR, you may see little to no cycle.
A typical cycle will need a source of ammonia. I like to use 1 raw, unseasoned jumbo shrimp per 30 Gallons. Once it starts to decay, it will produce ammonia (you can use fish food as well). The ammonia should spike and then your nitrItes should rise while the ammonia declines. Next you will see nitrAtes rise and your nitrItes decline. Once you read 0 on ammonia and nitrItes, do a PWC and your tank is cycled.

I agree. You`ll be able to tell by the rise and fall of ammonia and nitrites and at the end the rise of nitrates.