Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 10-21-2010, 02:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Ok i am so lost

Hello Everybody

I was wondering if all of you could help me i'm new to the game of fish keeping and am trying to set up my tank but my local fish shop isnt very helpful and im trying to get some answers but the internet has just as many things saying do it it one way as they do saying not to........ Confusing much?? haha

so anyway to begin with i live in New Zealand and dont know anyone with a marine tank and have tried to join the NZ marine forum thing but i have to wait fro them to accept me so i was wondering if you all could help me?

I brought a tank second hand and might upgrade once i get the hang of it and know exactley what is required but for now i got a tank that is 120cm long 43cm wide and 68cm high then there is a 12cm high rim around the top of the tank with an inside lip that is 7.5cm wide. The tank hold 350litres(90G) i have tried to take some photos to help explain what i mean......

So i have a fluval 404 that came with the tank and i have got 1.5kgs of coral rock inside(NZ doesnt allow live rock into the country so i have to cure coral rock and wait for it to grow all the bacteria) I also have 18kg of coral rock in the tank and a aragonite sand bed of 5.5cm deep.

My question is I want to set up a sump, firstly I can only fit a 28 litre tank in the cabnet underneath my tank is this an ok sized tank?