Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-26-2007, 10:31 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
blazeyreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 1,697
Ok...it just hit me, how am I going to do this?

Ok I was just sitting down eating breakfast and thinking (yet again) about how I cant wait for my new 75 and how aweosme its going to be and how I need to learn more about useing my 29 as a sump/refugeum and it hit me... how am I going to cycle the 75 while useing the 29 to house the fish when the 29 is supposed to be the dang filter? Getting another aquarium is out of the question, and half of my fish have special value to me (got some from a very much loved person)and I dont want to have to give them to the LFS... so how am I going to do this?
Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
Houston "Face Trials with Smiles"-Porter Ellett
My aquariums-5gall snowball shrimp, 20long-awaiting setup,29gall planted
"We are nothing until we make ourselves somthing"
CTR
blazeyreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 10:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
JDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 2,294
ok, as you know i am not a salty, but if the 29 is already cycled, then your filter is already cycled...right? can you not just move the sand, LR and what ever to the bigger tank?

i have done that with my fw tanks, instantly cycling using stuff from another tank...maybe that does not work with SW

just my too cents
__________________

__________________
Just because I am working at Petco does not mean I am a sell out, they are still an evil empire, that I am trying to make better.
75 Gallon: New World Cichlids|26 Gallon Bowfront: Planted Angelfish/Swordtail Tank|20 Gallon Long: "Nano" non-reef|10 Gallon: frog and mosquito fish
JDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 10:50 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Is the 75g just a standard, bare tank, or is it all plumbed up?
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 10:56 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
timbo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 52
Using the 29 for now, setup the 75 (providing it is not a drilled tank). Put your sand and some LR or whatever you are going to use for scaping. Then seed it with some of the sand and LR from the 29. Then use a few power heads to circulate the water... When the new tank has cycled and the time comes to transfer the fish, implement the 29 as your sump then?
__________________
timbo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 11:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
blazeyreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 1,697
thanks for the advice! the tank wont be drilled. This wont be for several months now, but I was just thinking about how it was going to happen!
__________________
Houston "Face Trials with Smiles"-Porter Ellett
My aquariums-5gall snowball shrimp, 20long-awaiting setup,29gall planted
"We are nothing until we make ourselves somthing"
CTR
blazeyreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 03:44 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Just make sure you have a way to get the 29 under your stand. when it is empty and you are getting ready to put the sump in.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 04:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sadielynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,835
Tote bins are awsome for this reason you could house every thing in one and then cycle with out the fish add them then clean the bin for storage or just use a bin for your fuge .When you are ready you can take a couple fish out of the 29 and add them to the tank then add the next round when it is empty either set up another nano or take it down and clean and store it ... either way be sure that you can get what ever in to your stand before the 75 is up or you will have an absolute nightmare on your hands
__________________
Sadielynn
Nanoreefing site
2 nanos
10 gallon ~6.5 gallon custom
Sadielynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 06:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
You can't add baffles to the 29 gal to convert it to a sump/refugium w/ fish/water in it.? You're going to need another tank/tote bin to house what you have now in while you build the sump out of the 29.
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 05:27 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT79
You can't add baffles to the 29 gal to convert it to a sump/refugium w/ fish/water in it.?
sure you can - removable baffles! They work - I just added a baffle to my 20g sump, and it works like a charm.

Of course, you may want to remove the fish and rocks first, but hey - makes for possibilities, right?
__________________
MSU Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 02:30 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I think MT is talking about getting the 75 setup with the 29 being full of fish, sand, LR and the works it will be hard to do without something to house the stuff in the 29 while you get the 75 set up. As was mentioned above a tote from wal-mart is the cheapest answer! I keep several on hand for various reasons and they work very very well for mixing SW up too!
__________________

__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Well, MTS has hit me...badly. Marconis Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 05-23-2007 03:23 PM
Plague has hit my tank...now what iman74 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 19 12-02-2006 12:12 PM
I think my crawdad is actually a hit-fish FriscoTX Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 03-03-2006 03:35 PM
After some more research it hit me... Talon242 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 11-14-2005 12:01 AM
and 1000 has been hit SerLunchbox Aquaria Off-Topic 12 05-24-2005 09:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.