Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-01-2014, 05:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 135
Ok to add fish?

I have had my tank running for a about 10 days I used live sand and live rock from an already set up tank. I have added snails and crabs and just tested and my no2 no3 are zeros would it be safe to add one fish today? Was thinking a clown
__________________

__________________
moog24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 07:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
To be sure its cycled just dose up with some pure ammonia and if the numbers go back to zero you are ready for fish,.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 12:14 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 92
If you didn't add any ammonia source in the beginning your levels of NO2 and NO3 would be at zero anyways, the cycle starts with ammonia. I wouldn't add anything until you add a significant ammonia source and monitor the levels for a few days.

D
__________________
DRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 12:46 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 135
What kind of ammnioa? I'm confused sorry I'm new to this
__________________
moog24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 12:54 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by moog24 View Post
What kind of ammnioa? I'm confused sorry I'm new to this
Most people put a raw shrimp in the tank and just let it decompose. That will let off plenty of ammonia to feed your tanks population of beneficial bacteria (BB). The bacteria will turn the ammonia in the tank into nitrites,0 later a different bacteria will convert nitrite into nitrAte. Generally speaking you want your tanks bacteria to be able to turn 1-2ppm of ammonia into 0 ammonia/0 nitrIte in around 24 hours, once this is achievable do a few significant water changes and rinse any filter media that catches solid particles with some tank water to reduce your nitrAtes, and you should be good.

You can use pure ammonia as well, adding it by the capful and testing over and over again until you achieve 1-2ppm, but that is an extensive process. I threw in a shrimp, waited a day, tested for a few days to see my ammonia spike then watched it all drop down and added a hardy little damsel fish to keep my cycle going.

If you buy ammonia, make sure it has no surfactant or fragrances added to it, one way I've heard to tell if it is pure is to shake it and see if it makes suds. If it does, it isn't pure ammonia.

D
__________________
DRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 01:04 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
You can get oure ammonia from ace hardware, its about $3-$4.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 03:52 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 135
If I drop a few shrimp pellets in would that do the trick?
__________________
moog24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 11:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 92
It'll be hard to get enough ammonia from a few pellets and most of the time, fish food companies put additives in the food to slow down the breakdown process to limit the water pollution from the food. I literally bought 1 shrimp from Publix, got some funny looks from the meat department and the cashier, but it worked beautifully.
__________________
DRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 08:42 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 135
Just one whole raw shrimp??
__________________
moog24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 09:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 92
That's all I did for ammonia, I also used a bacteria booster, like Bio-Spira. The bio-spira just adds some extra bacteria to the system to colonize on empty surface area of your live rock.
__________________

__________________
DRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fish

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can i add copepods before i add fish Michealw1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-19-2013 08:44 PM
Want to add more fish what should i add Loach23 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 03-14-2011 12:09 AM
I want to add fish...but what to add? megos1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 10-17-2006 11:58 AM
what to add, what to add supafreak Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 5 09-19-2004 11:51 PM
what else could I add? should I add? AJ Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 02-01-2004 11:22 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.