Okay here it goes, all advice appreciated

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

serenahec

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Please dont yell at me, I am a newbie at this and to make a long story kinda short here is my situation. I have a 75 gal. tank that included magnum 350, two 402 power heads, heaters, UGF, and CC as bed. I added fish too soon, the ammonia spiked, dropped, now its at zero but the nitrites are sky high which I assume killed my fish, all but two damsels, blueish purple with the yellow tail. After reading alot, I now realize the UGF is a no-no and the CC isnt helping so today I took out all the coral and got rid of the UGF. I went to this fish supplier who talked to me about everything and once he was done laughing and convinced me that I want a functional tank with live fish instead of a cute tank with dead fish. I bought 20 pounds of live rock and I am getting more tomorrow for its payday. He told me I should wait to put in the LSB until I get all my rock in and get that functioning. I know I have to buy a protein skimmer as well. If you could please give me any advice or things you learned not to do or to do I would appreciate it. Thank you for your time. Serena

hello,

I am a newb too... I would recommend getting a couple of good books first, such as conscientious marine aquarist by fenner. Another thing is to read >>this<<
and explore the other articles on the articles page of this site.

Then, try and read as many threads from this site about topics as you form questions.