Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-21-2011, 03:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Keysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 162
Old filter pad to start new tank

Hi got a 55g tank that has running for 4 months everything is going good got a valitine puffer snowflake eel and coral beauty in it ( looking at getting a zebra lion too he's on hold at the lfs )
Now I've just set up a 17g tank it's got 5kg of live rock in it ( pick up 8kg last night for 20 dollars came with all kinds of hitchhikers like crabs worms lil shrimps and I think a tiny sand shifting star) now it has not cycled did a test read
Ammonia 0
Ph 8
Nitrates where high (can't remember the number)
Nitrites 0
so I put some filter pad out of my 55g in the filter done a test and it's saying
Ph 8
Nitrate 0
Nitrites 0
Ammonia 0
Now dose this mean that the tank has instantly cycled
__________________

__________________
Keysman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 04:19 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
well, cycling means letting all of the die-off go through the nitrogen cycle so if you don't have any die-off, you have an "instant cycle". A quick way to test is to add some fish food and test to see your levels tomorrow. If they're all good then you're cycled
__________________

__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 06:09 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Keysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 162
Ok I will do some test tomorrow thanks
__________________
Keysman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 06:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keysman
Hi got a 55g tank that has running for 4 months everything is going good got a valitine puffer snowflake eel and coral beauty in it ( looking at getting a zebra lion too he's on hold at the lfs )
Now I've just set up a 17g tank it's got 5kg of live rock in it ( pick up 8kg last night for 20 dollars came with all kinds of hitchhikers like crabs worms lil shrimps and I think a tiny sand shifting star) now it has not cycled did a test read
Ammonia 0
Ph 8
Nitrates where high (can't remember the number)
Nitrites 0
so I put some filter pad out of my 55g in the filter done a test and it's saying
Ph 8
Nitrate 0
Nitrites 0
Ammonia 0
Now dose this mean that the tank has instantly cycled
How long has ur 17 gallon being cycling for? Its unusual for u to even get a drop in nitrate with a cycled tank. I think u should test it again make sure u are shaking ur nitrate bottle #2 for 30 sec and test tube for 1 min. And for a better indication to see if u are cycled. Increase ur ammonia up to 4ppm and if within 24 hours and u have no ammonia, no nitrite and and about 20-40 ppm nitrate then u are cycled.
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 07:30 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Keysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 162
I think I have got the drop due to me putting the old filter pad out of my 55g in it which has got good bacteria in
I will test again
I am just asking can the cycle be skipped if you use an old filter pad out of another tank
__________________
Keysman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 07:50 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Keysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 162
I also used water out of my 55g tank too when I set up the 17g ( 50% new water 50% water out of the 55g)
Tank has been up for 2 weeks did my first test about a week ago added the live rock last night add the (used) filter pad today levels look fine now
__________________
Keysman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 08:04 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hubert90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keysman
I also used water out of my 55g tank too when I set up the 17g ( 50% new water 50% water out of the 55g)
Tank has been up for 2 weeks did my first test about a week ago added the live rock last night add the (used) filter pad today levels look fine now

Ahh I get it. U don't need to use water from ur 55 gallon coz beneficial bacteria don't exist in water column.

And if u use established filter media u still need to wait for ur tank to cycle. The old filter media is there to seed and aid in cycling. It will reduce the cycling period but u can't skip. U still need to add ammonia and test Ur water parameters often.
__________________
Hubert90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 08:19 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Keysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 162
Just did a test readings where as follow
Ammonia 0
Nitrates 0
Nitrites 0
Ph. 8
So has my tank instantly cycled with the 50/50 water and the used filter pad have dropped some brine shrimp and 3 pieces of krill for the crabs snail worms to eat check ammonia tommorow
__________________
Keysman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 01:50 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 587
If you have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and some nitrate, I would say your cycled. Did you do any kind of pwc? Nitrate doesn't go away by itself like nitrite and ammonia, at least without the use of a fuge or other methods
__________________
Henry405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 09:25 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Keysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 162
What is a fudge or other methods?
__________________

__________________
Keysman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, start, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a small filter pad for a larger tank. MrAlecks Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 05-01-2011 10:47 PM
Filter Pad rocktrns Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-16-2010 08:02 AM
Sock, Filter Pad or Something Else eatsomepopcorn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 02-04-2010 09:59 PM
Does Micron Filter Pad work well with HOB filter? ahboy22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-08-2005 09:41 PM
Filter pad question dralarms Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 03-25-2004 09:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.