OMG- my glass is cracked!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wolfy23

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Just moved in my newly acquired 125g tank and after setting it on the stand noticed a place where the glass has been damaged. I have no idea when or how the damage occurred. It does not appear to completely compromise the glass, but it is at the point where the front bonds to the left side.
Would you guys look at the pics and give me opinions? Thanks very much- I SO hope my tank can be saved!

Attachments

• 100_0028.jpg
    100_0028.jpg
    72.1 KB · Views: 69
  • 100_0029.jpg
    100_0029.jpg
    72 KB · Views: 77
  • 100_0030.jpg
    100_0030.jpg
    46.3 KB · Views: 64
  • 100_0031.jpg
    100_0031.jpg
    35.2 KB · Views: 80
Bummer. I have no experience with this, but there's no way I'd ever risk 125g of water spilling onto my floor.

Was the tank new? can it be replaced by the manufacturer?

yes, ziggy, front left corner. about 8" up from the very bottom of the tank.

Is it just chips blown out from the corner? Its hard to tell from the pics. I've seen tanks with chips missing from the corners that were up and running for years with no issues. as long as the sealant is in good standings I expect you should be fine. Have you water tested the tank yet?

If you do I would move it to outside incase something happens

yup, it's just the corner and does not seem to have affected the seal on the inside at all. My gut feeling is that it's ok- I'll water test tomorrow. Do you think it best to fill the tank completely to get full pressure on the crack? That's what I'm thinking.