Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-22-2006, 06:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

online, used, or LFS

I am new to the hobby and have read several books on the subject. I am in the beginning stages of looking and pricing equipment.

Can anyone recommend a whether I should buy from the LFS, look in the classified ads / ebay, or try my luck online?

Also, is there a popular website that the majority of people think has good prices? I stumbled upon a couple (Drsfostersmith, the hidden reef) but just wanted to make sure that I wasnt not missing a good one.

I also went to my LFS but they seemed on the pricey side.

Thanks for the advice.

Old 07-22-2006, 07:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

I have found that bigalsonline.com has:

Good prices
Extensive inventory
Great customer service

What more could you ask for?

Drs Foster & Smith are good for INFORMATION, with numerous pages of very helpful info on everything you could possibly want to learn about and more. They also sell live stock and give pertinent info on the fish, inverts etc. They also have weekly sales to get you looking on a regular basis.

AC 300 HOB
AC 402 Powerhead - AC 301 Powerhead
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2006, 08:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Send a message via Yahoo to vsnsofadrgn
check out craigslist in your area, too. ive ordered from ebay and from drfostersmith and have good results from both. it just depends on what you are after and how much you want to pay. if your bugdet is limited, definately check out all of them. i def recommend drfostersmith. they have decent pricing as well as shipping and you cant beat the customer service. there is also a classified section on AA that you can check out....

hope dies last