Oops - accidently ended up in SW today

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

2scicrazed

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok, I'm a science teacher that uses live aquatic models in class for student research projects. Since I changed districts this year I've gone from being 5 minutes from the best Aquatic store in Nashville - to an hour away..

One of the main projects I do every year involves brine shrimp colonies. So I got the bright idea of using a 5G tank I had in storage to create a permanent breeding colony of them. That way I'm not driving WAY out've my way to the ONE store that sells them. (mentioned above). I also intend to feed the excess to my planted barb tank and Malawi Lake tank.

On the way home I stopped by my favorite Petco to buy the pair of Mollies my stepson has been wanting. While there I was given a pair of marine snails and a Chocolate chip Starfish that another customer had returned. (they always give me free stuff at this store.) Also purchased a big clump of algae.

So now I've got the whole shebang sitting in an overnight container with air stone. The starfish reacted to being dumped in by curling all legs up and over. I actually found this site because I was searching for why he did that. Turns out I now have a very happy starfish because he's in the middle of food...

Perhaps enough brine shrimp will survive to breed in the five gallon? Or perhaps I need to set aside a bowl of them just in case. (I doubt he'll manage to eat them all in one evening) Maybe the starfish will be so happy with the shrimp that he'll leave the snails alone.

In any case, I'm now the proud owner of a critter that I never intended to own. Though my students will get a kick out of him for sure! (y)

That is a neat story... what are your plans. What exactly do you have the starfish in? Sand/Live Rock/Equipment? This could go south very quickly