Opinion on Visi Jet protein skimmer.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

razman

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I have a marineland Eclipse 3 system (29 gallon). Attempting to setup reef. so far a fully cycled tank with 1 shrimp, 1 clown, 1 damsel with 20 lb live rock. Spoke to a rep from Drfostersmith and was advised that the Bakpak 2R will not fit with the eclipse hood. They said the visi jet would. But I haven't heard anything abt this protein skimmer and hence the post. Does anyone have any experience with this skimmer? how is it?

Btw, I just got more live rock from www.tampabaysaltwater.com and believe me, shocked is the word to describe the rock. Amazing absolutely amazing.. those f* LFS has been ripping me off ... I am so glad I joined aquariumadvice.

Thnx

While I have no personal experience with this skimmer, I know several people who have tried them. None of them had anything good to say about it. For a small HOB skimmer, I'd check into a Prizm or a Seaclone. The Aqua C Remora is the best HOB (IMO), but I doubt it would fit either.

I personally owned a Visa-jet for about 2 days. It was JUNK! You might as well just throw your money in the trash, and save on the shipping.

Howard

I have a visi jet 100, and I would like to throw it off of the roof of my house and run it over with my truck. Unfortunately I cannot do this because it would fly apart in the air, on the way down, and be lost. Apparently "friction fit" was good enough for the engineers, who may have been drinking heavily when they designed this unit. So in summary, I do not like my visi jet 100. Anyway when I get another skimmer, if I ever do, I will get some kind of HOB skimmer because I would not like to have a large piece of pipe jutting up out of my tank. :soap: