Ordering online vs LPS?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

saltyfishy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey. I am very new to Salt Water..... I bought my tank (30 gal.) from CL and got the original water and fish she had.... Everything is going good, I have learned a lot from fighting ich to getting a QT. The fish that were in the tank were very aggressive so I turned them in to the LPS being I want a more peaceful tank. I just need thoughts about ordering fish from online. From reading other forums and advise, everything my LPS has told me is wrong. Like they are more interested in making the money than helping. That tends to get very discouraging. For example they told me a yellow Tang would be fine.... so I got one and from what I read my tank is too small for him even tho he is little. Please let me know if anyone orders from online and from where? Thanks in advance =)

you are calling the LFS, lps. "local fish store". yes, your tank is way small for a tang. there are many reputable vendors on line but they are not going to know what tank you have. they are going to send you what you order. it's up to you to research the fish you like before purchasing.
live aquaria is pretty good, and they do give a bit of a description as well-
Saltwater Fish: Marine Aquarium Fish for Saltwater Aquariums

X he meant lps- local pet store like petco etc.

the only thing with online is the shipping costs, half the fish id like to buy are much cheaper than the shipping itself, so its all up to you

the only thing with online is the shipping costs, half the fish id like to buy are much cheaper than the shipping itself, so its all up to you