Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-09-2011, 09:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 87
Overflow and sump questions

I have a 100g fresh that will be saltwater soon. I'm going to have a sump and refugium separate 10g s because of my odd stand. How many gph does my overflow box to the sump need to have? All that will be in my sump is skimmer, and can my sump go directly into the fuge after? Thanks...
__________________

__________________
Fishking22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:26 AM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
You want aprox 5x-10x your tanks water volume to pass thru the sump, so 500-1000 gph.
Yes, you can go from the sump to the fuge.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:02 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 87
Will a 800gph be fine? And I would need 2 800 pumps right? 1 to the fuge and 1 from the fuge back to tank?
__________________
Fishking22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
no you'd need one pump you can plumb the sump through the fuge and to the return pump one 800 is fine. what is your skimmer pump rated for?
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 87
I'm still looking at protein skimmers, not too sure. And how would I plumb from the sump to my fuge without a pump?
__________________
Fishking22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
you can drill holes in line with eachother if you are using seperate tanks for it. the water will flow from the sump through the pipe into the fuge like normal
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 87
umm....no thanks, ill just get another 30$ pump...here is the skimmer i was looking at.

Coralife 220 skimmer coralife super skimmer 220 coralife super skimmer needle wheel 220 gallon

seems good right?
__________________
Fishking22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:25 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
If you use 2 pumps, you could end up having some big problems. If one pump goes a little faster then what it says, and one goes a little under, then somewhere one of your sump tanks will overflow. It is best to use one pump to take the water from the last part of the sump to the DT. The rest is all plumbing, from the DT to the sump, and from sump 1 to sump 2.
__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:34 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 87
Alright, well how will I go about drilling?
__________________
Fishking22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 10:44 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Hillage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 151
If you aren't a DIY type of person, or if you are worried, you can get some professionals to do it. Usually anywhere you can buy glass can drill some holes AFAIK. If you are up to it, you can get a diamond tip hole drill bit (or similar name, you get the point) and drill a hole yourself. You might want to look into it more, because I'd be getting mine drilled myself, or my father would do it for me lol. But basically you just take it slow, and put some water on it as you go to keep it cool. Just make sure the glass isn't tempered, because if it is, you have a handful of glass and an aquarium frame in your hands.
__________________

__________________
Hillage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow and Sump.... veetors Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-04-2009 08:14 PM
Overflow/Sump Questions.... IworkatPSP General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-10-2006 12:11 AM
Overflow / sump questions SpikeAZ Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 06-18-2005 03:41 AM
New Overflow and Sump aquanaut Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 05-19-2005 11:26 AM
overflow to sump ? darb2 DIY Projects 1 03-03-2005 09:29 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.