Overflow box or tank with built in overflows....post your thoughts

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bioteacher

Aquarium Advice Freak
So, I am planning a new build somewhere in the 125g-150g range. I am new to saltwater, so I don't have much experience with sumps. I have a freshwater system for zebrafish housing that has overflows and a sump, but that all came as one unit, so I have never built a system piece by piece.

Here's my question: If you were starting from scratch, would you rather have a tank with built in overflows, or would you use a HOB overflow box? What are the pros and cons of either set up? Your opinions are appreciated....

If I felt like doing it again I would drill my tank. Just for peace of mind.
Supra

Drilled is better in every aspect other then the actual drilling of the tank

Piece of mind? Sorry, I'm new to this. Why does an overflow box cause you to worry?

From what I'm told you may lose siphon which would stop your intake. Then your sump would be emptied. Lots of problems to follow. I'm nervous just talking about it. I don't want to jinx myself. I have a DIY overflow.
Supra

Your siphon can break causing you return pump to send your entire sump into your DT flooding it and it cost around 50 bucks to get a tank drilled but you can do it for the cost of the kit that you can order online which it really isn't hard to do as pong as your patient

And just so you know a power outtage even a short flicker can break a siphon

You can get an overflow by CPR. They can be hooked up to a 15 dollar Aqua Lifter pump. This will negate issues with the above stated issues. I run this and have no issues.

Mrc8858 said: