Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-26-2007, 12:57 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
overflow problem new tank

I recently purchased a used 125 gallon tank with 2 overflows. When I filled the tank one of the overflows started filling with water before the other. . The tank was drilled and glass installed to make the overflows before I purchased. the overflows are Durso type overflows.

The side that has the glass higher has varying water level. It will be even witrh the other then fall 2 inches and then fill back up those 2 inches and repeat this all the time.

How can i fizx this short of putting new glass in?
__________________

__________________
mikewv100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 02:36 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Can you adjust the height of the durso standpipe?
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 05:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
could cut one shorter or make other longer
__________________
mikewv100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 03:12 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
The durso is designed to avoid the problem you are having. There should be some way to adjust it. Check on http://www.dursostandpipes.com/Build...4/Default.aspx
for some ideas.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 03:45 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Can you post a couple of pics of what you are talking about. I think I may know what is going on but need to see it to be sure.

Also how do you have it plumbed from the bottom of the tank to your sump? Can you get a pic of that too?
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 10:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
I re-read the Durso instructions and dumb me had a loop in the flex hose on one side of the overflow. I rerouted and all is fine. Thanks Mike
__________________

__________________
mikewv100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow Problem macman7010 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-10-2006 05:02 PM
overflow problem reeling reefer General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 03-09-2006 02:06 PM
Overflow problem??? sonoma2nv General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-23-2006 10:04 PM
Weird overflow problem ellisz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 10-15-2005 11:27 PM
Problem with overflow box natman2 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 09-06-2005 05:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.