Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-20-2009, 08:31 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RazorbacksFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SouthWest AR
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
Brain fart here...PFS=pool filter sand? There are folks that use it with SW, it tends to be more silicate based sand...a little rougher on the sand sifting critters, but I haven't heard any true horror stories...You may have to deal with a little more diatom blooms, but nothing to worry too much about, I wouldn't think.
Yupp PFS- Pool Filter Sand.
__________________

__________________
RazorbacksFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 09:17 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thominil's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In the middle of the corn....
Posts: 2,773
Filters like that are known to become nitrate factories. You may want to toss the filter media and just fill it with live rock rubble. Live rock in the main display and/or sump/fuge are the main biological filters in a reef or fowlr setup.
__________________

__________________
~Thom
Any questions? Feel free to PM me.
Hitchhikers on live rock? http://www.xtalworld.com/Aquarium/hitchfaq.htm
Like someone's post? Show some appreciation with the reputation button!
thominil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 09:54 PM   #13
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
From what I understand, the main reasons for not using PFS in SW (and I'm a huge fan of it for FW) is that it is reported to cause longer lived and more pronounced diatom problems and lacks the buffering of aragonite.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 09:59 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, when I get a new filter, I toss the foam/sponges. You can keep the nitrAtes down, if you rinse them (in old SW), but they work fine with or without the foam....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:19 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by linksyz View Post
The tank i got came with a topfin60 filter. Like the dual one with two slots for bio-bags and all. Am i still going to be able to use that for this SW tank? Or will i need a different type of fitler?
I started with the same setup. I have a very light bioload and about 50lbs of live rock in my aquarium. I have 2 topfin60's. I would suggest removeing ALL the media from the filter and put phosphate remover in one side and carbon in the other. the LR will take care of biological filtration. Later on you (like me) are going to want to go with a skimmer or/and a refugium. Reef Octopus makes some GREAT HOB models. the BH-800s is what I am getting. It is TOTALLY quiet. I'm also going to run a HOB refugium. Size things for a bigger tank. If you like the 55 you will LOVE a 75.

Check out my post "advice from a newbie to a newbie"
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:24 AM   #16
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
That sounds like a good idea. Im buying a skimmer tonight anyways. But wont putting LR rubble in the HOB filter work just as well as putting carbon and phosphate in there? I hear using the LR in the filter is really all you need.
__________________
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:36 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by linksyz View Post
That sounds like a good idea. Im buying a skimmer tonight anyways. But wont putting LR rubble in the HOB filter work just as well as putting carbon and phosphate in there? I hear using the LR in the filter is really all you need.
LR provides BIOLOGICAL filtration (i.e. NH4 and NOx conversion)

The Carbon and Phosphate Remover Provide CHEMICAL Filtration.

3 Types of filtration

1. Mechanical - filter sponge, skimmer
2. Chemical - Carbon, Phosphate Remover, Nitrate Remover
3. Biological - Live Rock for the Nitrogen cycle
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 01:53 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Langley AFB, VA
Posts: 96
I wish PFS seemed like a safer alternative, my stores in my area don't sell large enough vaolumes of argonite sand to fill my 75g... I've heard that people say some sand from Home Depot, Play sand from the carribean or something works well
__________________
bbecher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:30 PM   #19
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
As said before, i thought it could work like that too.. but you dont get the biological plus that you would if you had aragonite sand. Plus some PFS like the one i have actually is a little more silicone based.. so it wouldnt be as easy and as nice for the sifters in the live sand to move around and do their thing. but then again.. if you dont have much of a choice.. :/
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:58 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Langley AFB, VA
Posts: 96
Honestly I thought they sold finer arg sand, but the stuff I see around in my fish stores looks like chopped shells, maybe a few centimeters wide a piece. I'm going to have to act soon though in regards to sand, my RO/DI unit just got here...
__________________

__________________
bbecher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pfs

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
planting with pfs DragonFish71 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 11-26-2009 10:46 AM
how deep should my PFS sand be JPKeenan Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 10-03-2009 03:09 AM
PFS or Gravel Aquarium1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 28 08-02-2009 04:54 PM
PFS plus something else? majolo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 03-01-2007 11:31 AM
What is the best way to clean PFS? Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 06-24-2006 11:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.