Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2008, 03:13 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjarbo1 View Post
My nitrites and nitrates are pretty elevated so they might be affecting the test. It is also a closed top so I will keep that in mind. I did put two powerheads in and opened the air intakes to aerate the water to try to raise the pH, but it didn't do much.

I'll just be patient and wait for things to stabilize. Thanks all!
Using the bubbler feature in the powerheads won't really aerate a SW tank... just make a bunch of microbubbles!

All tanks that are cycling go whacko on the pH. It just all due to the massive amount of biological activity that's going on in there. Since there's nothing in your tank, consistancy in water parameters isn't an issue. Once you finish the cycle and do several water changes to get you nitrates back down, your pH will even out. THEN... if you have issues, start tracking down the source.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 11:12 AM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree with Kurt. That lid will also keep the pH low, since the O2 exchange occurs on the surface of the water in SW.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 11:40 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
I guess my point is just ignore pH during your cycle.

Lid or no lid, excess CO2 in the house, not enough aeration, junk salt mix, overstocking, misreading colors on a pH test, day or night... shoot there are tons of things that can drive down pH. But trying to troubleshoot them during a cycle is pointless.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, drop

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pH drop? bluerose Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 44 10-06-2008 04:06 PM
What Causes an SG DROP jonboyb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-09-2008 01:06 PM
PH drop cobb12 DIY Projects 4 08-03-2008 01:47 AM
PH Drop? gozetec02 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-12-2004 11:59 AM
Why did my PH drop ? iskatefast Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 11-25-2003 11:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.