Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-13-2009, 08:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
deanp88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 73
PH is to high...

I have a 125g tank that has been set up for about 2 months. Tank has cycled and diatoms have finally died out (algea). Ammonia is 0 N2 is 0 and N3 is between 20-30. I use RO water. Tank has about 5 damsels and a clown in it. I have a feather duster and tree soft coral and an anenome and all three today have not been in full bloom. I tested the PH and it is at 8.6. I have been using that Kent reef supplement part a and b that is also suppose to balance ph. How do I get the ph down and could that be the reason that the coral is not in full bloom?
Thanks..
__________________

__________________
deanp88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 08:49 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I would try some frequent PWC`s first to get it to come back down. Why are you adding a supplement?
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 09:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
deanp88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 73
The guy at the lfs said it would help with the live rock I had. I just tested the PH at the source from the RO unit that is about a month old and the PH from it is the same, 8.6+. Now what do I do? I am not on a well. Is this dangerous for the fish/coral? I have some Proper ph 8.2. Could I use that to bring it down? The jar says "increases" carbonate hardness (KH) to hold or buffer ph to 8.2.
__________________
deanp88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 06:25 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
If it was me I would discontinue adding the supplement and do some PWC`s and then test about an hour before the lights go out. This will give you a true reading.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 06:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Something is wrong with or RO unit if the PH coming out of it is 8.6. You should be getting very close to 0.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 08:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
deanp88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 73
Well, I had tested the water with a master test kit originally, then went to the lfs and bought another test kit for PH. Now my RO unit with the new test kit shows PH at 7.4 and tank is 8.4. Obviously a bad test kit I guess. Don't know how old it is, it was given to me. The master kit was a drytab kit. Do any of you guys use the Aquaripure nitrate filter on your tanks? Is it worth it?
__________________
deanp88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 10:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Your PH is good. I would not worry to much about the nitrate level just yet. Just do 20 -30% PWC's and that should bring it down enough for now. Don't be in to much of a rush to add chemicals to your AQ. That is a sure road to BIG trouble.IMO...
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 11:35 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
deanp88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 73
Good enough, thanks!
__________________
deanp88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 12:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Measuring pH of RO water is useless if you're nearing 0ppm TDS. You can use the same test kit on the same sample and get two different readings with "pure" water. In theory, the pH of "pure" water should be 7.0 (neutral). But it won't be, or if it is... it's purely luck. The ratio of free ions in the water is so low, any little contamination from anything can throw off the results. Pretty sure your source water isn't the problem.

My guess is its your 2-part dosing. I'm not familiar with the Kent 2-part, but I don't believe any 2-part solutions will "balance" your pH for you. If you add too much of the alkalinity - or if your tank isn't using it, as is probably your case - then you're probably going to see an increase in pH once your levels get out of whack. Do you have a alkalinity test kit? How 'bout a calcium test kit? Those are the two elements you're adding with the 2-part solution, so I'd be sure I was testing for them to see where you're at.

Until you get a large amount of coraline algae, dosing a 2-part solution isn't doing you any good and is most likely messing up your water parameters. Weekly water changes will give you what you need until the growth of coralline (and coral, eventually) strips more calcium out of the water then you can put back in with a water change. And testing is the way to keep track of that.

Here's a good article...

Calcium and Alkalinity by Randy Holmes-Farley - Reefkeeping.com

And here's the article to go to when you get your calcium and alkalinity levels all out of whack...

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/nov2002/chem.htm
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 10:34 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
Something is wrong with or RO unit if the PH coming out of it is 8.6. You should be getting very close to 0.
You do know the Ph scale, right? A Ph of zero, or close to it, would pretty much guarantee that everything in your tank was dead. It would also be eating it's way through the plastic tubing of the RO unit.

If the water coming out of the RO unit was pure, it should be seven, or as close as possible to that.
__________________

__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nano Cube High w/ High Output LEDs AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 01-17-2010 06:00 PM
how high is to high for a leather coral divedeep1689 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 09-10-2009 06:35 PM
High Light, High Flow, Slow Growth Corals jonboyb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 10-18-2008 03:12 PM
cycling my tank, how high is too high for nitrates? boojumsnark25 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 01-26-2007 10:02 AM
Ca very high, ph high, alk low, what to do? Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 02-19-2004 05:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.