pH levels

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cmhadden

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
whats the best and safest way to lower pH levels. My pH is about 8.4 (im new at this) so I understand that it is better to keep it around 8.3. My tank is a 30gal and it has about 10 lbs of live rock with 3 yellow tail damsels. the tank has been going for about a week now. anybody?

whats the best and safest way to lower pH levels. My pH is about 8.4 (im new at this) so I understand that it is better to keep it around 8.3.

8.4 is fine and within acceptable range for a reef tank, some consider it ideal.

To answer the question though, the safest easiest way to lower the ph is through water changes.

Gas exchange. During the nite, the CO2 levels rise, where as during the day the CO2 level drops due to photosynthesis, CO2 depresses ph, so high co2=lowered ph.