Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-08-2004, 03:32 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
The LFS is actually correct in that if you don't have enough gas exchange at the surface of the water then there will be a lot of trapped CO2 that will drive the pH down. The main cause of this is usually glass tops followed by lack of surface agitation. How's the ventilation over the new tank?

As mentioned, it would really help to get the Alk/Ca tested too.
__________________

__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 03:38 PM   #12
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have a glass top but the back where there were plastic flaps ,I removed them since I had to add power heads and filters so there is 3 inch wide opening across the whole back of the tank which I believe is 7 ft long
Now I do have a 400 gal per power head blowing up that makes waves at the top of the tank not sure if thats big enough, that's in the center ,on both sides of the tank I have a 300 per aiming down and I 900 per on the other side aimimg down
I really didnt want a 900 but they were out of the smaller ones and I figured hey the more the better and the fish do seem to love it
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 03:44 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by EXVISOR19641964
speaking of that since the upgrade and the re cycle of my tank I've been getting allot of the brown allege but I do clean it as soon as I see it, it is all over the live rock though, someone at the pet store mentioned could be from lack of 02 like maybe I'm not venting enough of the carbon dioxiod but then again all the stores tell you something different, one guy is telling me a skimmer will resolve that, not sure I believe that or not
I mean I know a skimmer would be a good thing to have but I don't do corals just fish and live rock ,I am a fanatic with my tank, any left over food or fish waste I net out asap and for the most part I keep the tank pretty clean
The skimmer won't resolve that issure, but you really should have one if you have lr.

It sounds like Diatoms. Caused by PO4 which can come from many sources. Mainly Tap Water Or RO water with a high TDS. If can also come from some processed fish food and some GAC puts out P04 too.

But Agreed trapped Co2 will lower your PH. Like Atari said a glass top will add to the trapped Gas Co2.
__________________
CBRGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 03:45 PM   #14
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
do you think the power head I have aiming up is big enough?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 03:50 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
Probably, but I'm not sure if it's doing much good with the glass top on there.. would it be possible to replace the glass top with eggcrate? That would definitely help..

Still need that Alk/Ca tested though..
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 03:57 PM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hwats weired is I had a plastic top on my 55 gal and it was closed in more then the 125 and I didnt have a problem ,a glass top will really do this?
also what do you think about maybe adding some crushed coral or some dolomite, I heard that really helps the ph
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 06:50 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
The way to test for gas exchange is to remove some water from the tank. Agallon or so in a 5 gal bucket. Add an air stone, and dont cover the bucket. Test the pH in like 12-24 hrs. If the pH returns to normal. Then You have a problem with gas exchange.
__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 06:53 PM   #18
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wow that's different, I would of never thought of that ,I will try it, thanks, do most people use air stones in there salt water tank?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 06:59 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Cochranville PA
Posts: 698
No I don't use airstones in the main tank. I just have an extra one laying around. MTS will do that to you.
__________________

__________________
A lot of ripples make a wave
darb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pH problem Everlasting Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 13 03-10-2009 12:00 AM
What is the problem here? longliveglam Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 31 10-06-2008 11:48 PM
Problem.... crono_vivi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 07-18-2005 06:33 PM
problem? or not a problem? that is the question sirfishmaster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 03-30-2005 12:19 AM
Problem? Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-22-2003 04:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.