Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-31-2014, 04:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Phosphates and diatoms

Have the diatoms in my tank, but it's because my phates Are high.

another question...
WHATS THE BEST WAY TO REDUCE PHOSPHATES?


-Tropical water diver�� and marine lover.����������
__________________

__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 10:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
What do you do about diatoms in a 6 year old tank?
Phosphates are high


-Tropical water diver🏊 and marine lover.🐠🐟🐬🐳🐋
__________________

__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 10:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Andrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lshann14 View Post
What do you do about diatoms in a 6 year old tank?
Phosphates are high


-Tropical water diver🏊 and marine lover.🐠🐟🐬🐳🐋

I'm fairly new to this but I'm sure a big water change will lower phosphates. Also if you don't have a protein skimmer maybes should consider one. Also they sell media to reduce phosphates as well. Using ro/di water? Feeding too much? As I said I'm fairly new but thought I'll put little info as nobody answered your question. Hopefully somebody can give you a better answer


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Andrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 10:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
Posts: 900
Send a message via AIM to Breakthecycle2
Phosphates do not cause diatoms.
__________________
Breakthecycle2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 11:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
[QUOTE=Andrew1;3005591]I'm fairly new to this but I'm sure a big water change will lower phosphates. Also if you don't have a protein skimmer maybes should consider one. Also they sell media to reduce phosphates as well. Using ro/di water? Feeding too much? As I said I'm fairly new but thought I'll put little info as nobody answered your question. Hopefully somebody can give you a better answer


Did big water change... No difference
Have a $700 protein skimmer
Have phosphate reduction media
I use RO/DI water
I feed once every three days.

I'm not new to this at all, but I have done everything that I can think of right this second to fix my problem and nothing has helped.


-Tropical water diver🏊 and marine lover.🐠🐟🐬🐳🐋
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 11:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hasbrouck Heights, NJ
Posts: 900
Send a message via AIM to Breakthecycle2
I've got the same issue, but I don't think it's diatoms.
__________________
Breakthecycle2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 11:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1406859207.040431.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	185.5 KB
ID:	245090Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1406859295.665922.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	205.0 KB
ID:	245091

you tell me... This is aftermath of a clean and scrub down.


-Tropical water diver🏊 and marine lover.🐠🐟🐬🐳🐋
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 11:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
Oh and BreaktheCycle2 I have an acrylic and I wouldn't trade it for any glass


-Tropical water diver🏊 and marine lover.🐠🐟🐬🐳🐋
__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 10:18 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
buxndux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 63
New lighting? I've heard diatoms aren't affected my lights but I'm still not entirely convinced they aren't out of the question. Get some flow on the rocks and sand and just wait it out.
__________________
buxndux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 11:14 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
I can't screw up my flow because I have tons of corals


-Tropical water diver🏊 and marine lover.🐠🐟🐬🐳🐋
__________________

__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excessinve Nitrates and Phosphates allnatural Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 10-12-2010 09:54 AM
Product to Decrease Nitrates and Phosphates? cpeluso Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 07-23-2009 02:56 PM
Phosphates and Algae m3drver Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 03-31-2008 10:16 PM
Green & red algae - zero phosphates and zero nitrates flanque Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 18 01-10-2007 05:19 PM
Seaclone and phosphates c0mf0rt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 18 11-08-2004 08:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.