Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2013, 03:41 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bearchumjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Red Mountain WA
Posts: 3,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Searchin View Post
So today I am going to test with my API. I am reading the manual and it says I need to take 5ml in each test tube. In my 5 gallon tank, isn't that going to make big changes in my salinity?

Also, I found a starfish in my tank this morning! I couldn't take a picture but as soon as I find the little guy again, I'll be sure to post!
It won't mess with the salinity. It would only lower your water level. It's really such a small amount though. Just make sure you shake the bottles really good. Especially the second nitrate bottle. Shake that one really really good for about a whole minute.

That's cool you found a starfish! Can you describe what it looked like? I have seen an asterina starfish and a tiny brittle starfish in my tank.
__________________

__________________
Some people like cucumbers better pickled.
Bearchumjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:31 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
I think I actually have two asterinas! The first one I saw definitely had 5 arms and this one only has 3. They blend in so well though so I don't know where the 5 arm guy went!

Here it is in the center, little brown guy with white edges.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2856690123.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	165.5 KB
ID:	152568  
__________________

__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 05:02 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
Question: I'm 2 days into my cycle and I haven't checked parameters. I just opened my API master kit and realized I bought the reef master kit and not the standard one..... My LFS said it would take a week before they could get it. I like keeping my business with them.. But can I get away with not testing for a week or more in the first stages of cycling??
__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 07:25 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Zactheninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 693
Wouldn't the reef master be better than the standard?
__________________
Zactheninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 07:26 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Zactheninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 693
Oh and yes you can go a week or more easily In the beginning.
I uasually don't test until about the 3rd week anyways.
__________________
Zactheninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:36 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bearchumjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Red Mountain WA
Posts: 3,415
Reef master kit should be good. You need ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH for cycling.
__________________
Some people like cucumbers better pickled.
Bearchumjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:49 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
The reef master kit only covers nitrate, calcium, alkalinity, and Phosphate

It would be beneficial to me if I had a bigger tank since I'm going reef anyways..... But I saw a post by Mr.X saying that calcium and Phos is mostly controlled by water changes. So I just don't think I need it right now.

Btw! I believe I found a brittle starfish as well! It hasn't come all the way out of the rock but I can see the long arms!
__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 10:16 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Riverhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 211
One suggestion on spec v.. My bro has same one as nano..to slow evap.. If you know of a glass cutting shop get a piece to fit over access hole on top..he put little feet on the glass for easy removal.. Still will b evap but not as bad without and will also keep dust etc from entering tank ....
__________________
Riverhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:01 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
I remember you saying that before! Would you happen to have a picture of his set-up?

So to clarify, he just had a piece of glass cut to cover the whole top? Does it have any place for the wires to come out?
__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 03:41 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr funktastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: alliston, ON
Posts: 2,608
i was looking at buying the same tank. how much flow does the filter out out? i am curious if it is sufficient or if a small powerhead will be needed.
__________________

__________________
mr funktastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pico, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.