Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-10-2013, 01:05 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
Pico Reef

Hi everyone,

I am really interested in starting a pico reef tank. I have been looking at 5 gal tanks to buy. I have read some very successful stories on AA. Some that started with the fluval chi. I just went to PetsCo and saw this fluval spec. I wanted to get some thoughts on it.

My goal is to only have a few corals and a Small CUC...tbd once cycled. I would like live sand and live rock to be the filtration.

The spec has a filter in it. I'm thinking that will actually be a bad thing because I don't think it's made for saltwater and I think it will rust.

I also found this tetra 5 g starter tank at Walmart. It too says it has a filtration, but I don't see it in the picture. This tank looks pretty good to me since its basically a blank canvas.

I intend on adding a power head as well as purchase LED lights. Not sure which yet, I'll consider it more as I get going.

What do you guys think!?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-899536134.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	144.0 KB
ID:	151037   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1312894835.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	164.9 KB
ID:	151043  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2251529662.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	168.9 KB
ID:	151044  
__________________

__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
IMO the spec hands down.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:12 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
Do you think the filter on it will be enough water movement that I wouldn't need a power head? Same question goes for the LED lights that the spec comes with, would it be enough or will I still need additional lights?
__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:13 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
Also, is there no concern of rust?
__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:15 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Searchin View Post
Do you think the filter on it will be enough water movement that I wouldn't need a power head? Same question goes for the LED lights that the spec comes with, would it be enough or will I still need additional lights?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Searchin View Post
Also, is there no concern of rust?
No rust. Depending on what corals you want the flow and lights won't or will be an issue. Fish only your fine. Easy corals like mushrooms your fine.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 02:31 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
Ok I'm going to pick up that spec! I also just ordered an aquarium heater! Will I have to wait for the heater to start cycling? My apartment gets pretty cold and I feel like it will slow bacteria growth.
__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 02:53 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bearchumjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Red Mountain WA
Posts: 3,415
That spec looks awesome!

I'd wait for the heater to arrive. In the meantime you can make sure you have everything you need before you start cycling. I can't wait to see this come together!
__________________
Some people like cucumbers better pickled.
Bearchumjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:34 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Riverhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 211
My bro has a small mantis shrimp in a spec... He had a piece of glass cut for the opening on top and put little feet on the corners ... To prevent escape and to help deter evap compared to open top( also prevent stuff gettin to water surface) i started into the pico world with a 3gallon eclipse
__________________
Riverhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:26 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Searchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Posts: 202
Update!

What I bought:
Fluval spec V
TruAqua 100 watt digital thermometer/ heater ( in mail)
Refractometer
Master API kit
Live sand

Still to come:
Live rock


I have a few questions about the filter that comes with the fluval spec v..

1) Do I need it? In general, can I simply relay on natural filtration from live rock and sand?

2) is the bioinsert or carbon necessary?

3) The guy at my LFS said I WILL need a protein skimmer. Is that true? If I do need a protein skimmer, I was thinking I would just take out the filter that was provided and replace it with the skimmer... Any thoughts?

Thanks! Will be starting cycling as soon as my heater/ live rock arrives!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-800782574.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	172.6 KB
ID:	151537  
__________________
Searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:36 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bearchumjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Red Mountain WA
Posts: 3,415
You don't need a protein skimmer on a pico tank. Most people say you don't need one unless your tank is over 30 gallons.

You don't have to use the filter, but since its already there, why not?
__________________

__________________
Some people like cucumbers better pickled.
Bearchumjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pico, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.