Pico Reef Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tripoli

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been doing the whole saltwater fish tank thing for a few years now, and due to space/money I keep downsizing. Currently I have a 10 gallon mirco reef setup with no fish, but several happy corals and inverts. It's using power compact lights and a Penguin 125 Bio-Wheel filter. Lots of live sand and live rock.

I've decided that it would be fun to try and reduce this tank to a "pico reef." Possibly all the way down to a gallon or less. I like the idea of keeping the tank as self-sufficient as possible.

What I was thinking would be a good setup would be a small filter, preferably with a bio-wheel or equivalent. Live sand and plenty of small pieces of live rock. Small corals, a few small inverts, and of course, one or two small fish.

I'd like to get suggestions on what type of filtration would be good, such as a Mini Penguin or if I should attempt to set up a small sump somehow. Keep in mind that a good portion of the tank will be filled with live sand and rock.

I'd also like suggestions for lighting. Although I'm sure I can figure this one out for myself, it's nice to have other opinions.

Also, feel free to make suggestions as to what livestock would be ideal. I'm looking for small fish (I love fire Clowns), corals that will stay relatively small (not mushrooms or leathers), small inverts (clams, shrimp, lobsters, etc), and whatever else you can think of.

I do realize that the smaller the reef, the more difficult it can be, but I'd really like to give this a shot, so let's all put our knowledge together and see what we can do. Thanks.

First,
schild27.gif
to AquariumAdvice.com!!

I'd like to get suggestions on what type of filtration would be good, such as a Mini Penguin