Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-27-2010, 04:48 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Floyd R Turbo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,682
I think that listing is weird, because when I think of dry base rock, I think of rock that is completely dry and devoid of life. Pre-cured seems to imply that it still has life, so their ad is contradictory. It's either dry and dead, or it's not completely dry and somewhat cured but now dying because it's drying out.

I would side with saving the PWC water and soak in a tub like suggested. I have been told by LFSs in the past to not add more than 10% of your water volume in LR weight at a time, so if you have a 100g tank, only add 10 lb at a time, but that's probably for fully cured LR not base rock.

I've added 70-80 lb dry base rock to an existing tank without issue, and that was after a couple days of soaking in FW, which did result in a huge ammonia spike from rock that was dry for 2 years and rinsed off thoroughly before soaking!!
__________________

__________________
My tanks: 120 Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber, 60 Reef Pond w/floating Algae Scrubber, 40 Breeder Reef w/L2 UAS Tester Algae Scrubber
I maintain: 144 SW Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber | 200 SW Reef w/L4 Algae Scrubber
Special knowledge: Algae Scrubbers, Acrylic Fabrication
Floyd R Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 06:52 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Yea thats wht kind of confused me that they say its pre cured. Pre cured from what if its dry base rock?..but i still have mine soaking in fresh water not salt water..i don't think it should not make a difference whether its saltwater or not but then again I may be wrong. So far ph has not changed and no ammonia has been detected yet. But its only been a day soaking.
__________________

__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 07:59 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ChizerBunoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 648
You could boil the rocks to be sure you don't get any nuisance algae along the way.
__________________
Journal
ChizerBunoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 11:35 PM   #24
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Marco rock has a long history of containing dried organic material. By pre-curing it they are re-hydrating and removing most of that organic material that would cause a spike. I still would not add their rock to an established tank without testing it first.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:28 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Yea I read some where in some forums what cmor saying about marcorocks.. I am not gonna place it in my tank with out testing anymore..I have learned that doing stuff right the first time or as best as possible will save me money later on... I will be testing my rock again tomorrow
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:29 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
neil_04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: houston, Tx
Posts: 102
I only had one damsel and some turbo snails but i took mine to the car wash and powerwashed with regular water, for whatever reason they are covered in chalky dust. so adding directly is a big no, after washing them i soaked in rodi for about 12 hours. tested water for ammonia 0ppm water stayed clear no chalky residue. Then added to my display to my surprise it had 0 effect on my water readings hope this helps
neil
__________________
NEil
neil_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:01 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mansfield, PA
Posts: 13
Jereli... Did the rock arrive wet/moist? Or was it completely dry?... without any wet newspaper on it? I ask because right now I'm in the middle of some house remodeling and the tank is temporarily in my dining room. I'm thinking that if the rock arrived completely dry that I should be able to leave them in the box for a week or two until I can get the new flooring down. Sorry for hijacking your post... but I figured that since we ended up having a pretty good discussion on the proper procedure of "acclimating" rock from Marco Rocks for future readers that it wouldn't be a problem adding a few questions for the group.
__________________
tdob141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:31 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
Me too tagging along ..... I bought some dry base rocks from my LSF but they are still sitting in the box. Do not remember what type of rocks they are but they are huge and will probably have to break them down to smaller sizes.... What is the best way of doing that????? I got them for my new upcoming purchase of a 180 gal RR tank.
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:53 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Tdob...I don't see why you wouldn't be able leave it in the box if its already dry. Wouldn't make no difference. But my rock arrived completely dry. I dont believe it was ever alive to begin with. Your dry rock should be fine in a box.

mwilliams....just take a hammer and chisel to the rock. That should take care of it. It worked for me atleast.
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 01:01 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
Thanks. When you use the hammer & chisel do you need to use the rubber mallet or a regular hammer on the chisel? Don't want to mess up the chisel when I hit it with the hammer....
mwilliams.....
__________________

__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dry, dry rock, established tank, rock, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding live rock to an established tank aquarius75 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 01-19-2009 10:12 PM
Placing rock on PVC? chase33 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 04-19-2007 12:57 PM
Cycling a new tank with established rock ASpec Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 02-10-2006 02:56 PM
Adding new LR rock to established tank.... Seepu Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 12-26-2005 05:59 PM
Tapwater directly to tank bad? pitt420dude Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 33 03-28-2005 05:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.