Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-28-2010, 07:22 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Deep Seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Van. Isl., BC Canada
Posts: 1,854
Good reef rock is porous, which allows lots of bacteria to grow. Good dry rock often comes from mining ancient reefs. This allows you to use reef rock, without damaging a living reef, and it's usually much cheaper then live rock. I thought one of the big dry rock mines was in texas but I could be wrong. I know there's a place in florida that takes mined dry rock and hangs it in the ocean for 10 years and then sells it as "reef friendly" live rock.
__________________

__________________
"The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing" A. Einstein
"Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."
"We can do anything we want to if we stick to it long enough." Helen Keller
Deep Seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 07:35 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
I just called my LFS and they said those Lava Rocks come from South America don't know if that helps any or not.
__________________

__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:15 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
I wouldn't be able help you with that. I know nothing regarding lava rock.

Anothr question for you guys.. so I just tested the water that my dry base rock has been soaking in for couple days in now..at the start my waters ph was around 7.8 and 0 for ammonia. After soakog the rocks for two days my waters ph appears to be around 7.4 and ammonia looks like 0.25. What should will this be ok?

It was 50lbs of rock soacking in only 15 gallons. These results shouldn't affect 60 gallon tank with 20 gallon sump would it?
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:32 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Floyd R Turbo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,682
It will be proportional. If the tank's filtration system is well cycled and there is already LR in the system, I would think it would be ok, 80 gallons vs 15 would roughly be 6x the amount of water, so 6x less ammonia or 0.04 maybe 0.06. Filtration should be able to take care of that. I would change the water and run a powerhead for another day and test again just to be safe, but that's me.
__________________
My tanks: 120 Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber, 60 Reef Pond w/floating Algae Scrubber, 40 Breeder Reef w/L2 UAS Tester Algae Scrubber
I maintain: 144 SW Reef w/L2 Algae Scrubber | 200 SW Reef w/L4 Algae Scrubber
Special knowledge: Algae Scrubbers, Acrylic Fabrication
Floyd R Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:37 PM   #45
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Lava is very dense rock without the crevices that coral rock has. Lava rock MAY contain heavy metals, but you can't tell without testing.

The reason for using any rock in our reef tanks is for the amount of surface area available for the beneficial bacteria to cling to. Like the grains of sand from sugar sized sand,, there is a lot of surface area in coral rock. Lava rock just doesn't have this. You may as well use slate.

Dry base rock is mined from area that used to be coral reefs. Texas holy rock, Florida base rock, and rock from all the pacific islands are former reefs that are now above the surface. It is the porosity of the rock that makes it suitable for biological filtration.

Jereli, did you have a powerhead in there to keep the water circulating?
Have you added a source of ammonia to feed the bacteria, or start the cycle?

If you are seeing ammonia I would not add the rock to a tank with livestock. If it's starting to see ammonia after a few days it has organic material that is now decaying and creating that ammonia. Get some more tubs and cure it outside of the tank before adding it to be safe.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:45 PM   #46
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
mwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 865
cmor,
so you can use the Texas Holy Rock as the base rock then? It is from Austin Texas?
mwilliams
__________________
mwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 09:16 PM   #47
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Lots of people have used it. I have no experience with it.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:36 PM   #48
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Yea I was assuming that it wouldn't make a big difference in much more water. I will retest again after couple more days.

Cmor..no I did not have a power head running..I didn't add any source of ammonia because I didn't think I had to since it was dry base rock in the container only. I didn't add any live rock to the container.
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 11:17 PM   #49
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
It does make a difference. You don't want stagnant water. You need water circulating in and around the rock. Once you add circulation you may see a much larger spike in ammonia.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 01:59 AM   #50
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Ok so I just added a power head we'll see how that goes...
__________________

__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dry, dry rock, established tank, rock, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding live rock to an established tank aquarius75 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 01-19-2009 10:12 PM
Placing rock on PVC? chase33 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 04-19-2007 12:57 PM
Cycling a new tank with established rock ASpec Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 02-10-2006 02:56 PM
Adding new LR rock to established tank.... Seepu Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 12-26-2005 05:59 PM
Tapwater directly to tank bad? pitt420dude Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 33 03-28-2005 05:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.