Planning a New Build- input wanted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Engineer Brian

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all-

I've been running 90g FOWLR for nearly 15 years and I'm considering make the switch to reef on my next build. Any thoughts on planned equipment would be appreciated.

DT: 150-250g considering custom drilled Visio, reef ready Deep Sea Aquatics, or a lifetime aquarium from custom aquariums. The choice will need to be local to SoCal or able to be shipped. Any thoughts on the DT?

Sump/refuge: will be custom built. Leaning toward the filter sock chamber from custom aquariums plus a custom baffled 55 breeder.

Protein Skimmer: I've been running an ASM G-1x for years with great success. My current G-1X will be too small for the new setup and I need to decide if I will stay with ASM or go with a different brand. What skimmers does everyone out there recommend?

Carbon/Media Reactor: are you using them? What is the best brand?

Closed Loop: yes or no?

Uv: yes or no. I currently have an old 18w omni-zap. I only run it when adding new live stock or if I get an algae bloom. Most of the time it is off. Does anyone else use them?

Lighting: initially I will repurpose my existing PC retrofit kit for the new aquarium, possibly in a DIY hood. Plan is to eventually move up to a DIY LED system supplemented by a small T-5 or PC system if needed.

All of this will be housed in a custom built stand and controlled by my APEX.

Any thoughts opinions or ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice