Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-06-2008, 08:04 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Unless you've been dosing your tank that Alk reading is suspect. How old is the test kit? Have you verified your water parameters at the lfs?

Test the sw you got from the lfs for Alk and nitrates before using it to make sure that's not the source of your problem.
Are you sure you are getting distilled water at the grocer and not spring or mountain water?
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:05 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sooju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d View Post
Unless you've been dosing your tank that Alk reading is suspect. How old is the test kit? Have you verified your water parameters at the lfs?

Test the sw you got from the lfs for Alk and nitrates before using it to make sure that's not the source of your problem.
Are you sure you are getting distilled water at the grocer and not spring or mountain water?
The KH test kit is brand new - it doesn't expire until 2010. The reason I got the tesk kit is because I inherited some multi-test strips from the previous tank owner and the KH level was maxing out at 240 (the highest reading possible) so I wanted something more accurate.

I've definitely been buying distilled water, not spring water. But remember, I've only had this tank for a few weeks and I've done two PWCs with my own SW mix from distilled and one with 5 gallons premixed from the LFS. The tank is over two years old and I think the previous owner was buying premixed.

I have not had the water tested at the LFS - how do you do that? How big a sample do you bring them? Is there a charge?
__________________

__________________
sooju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:08 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by newbieNY View Post
I have not had the water tested at the LFS - how do you do that? How big a sample do you bring them? Is there a charge?
Yes, just take a small sample (cup worth is fine) to the LFS and they should be able to test it for free. I have yet to see a LFS that charges for this service.
__________________

__________________
Hogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
meters, parameters, water parameters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Parameters Bige Nano Reefs 2 09-10-2009 01:16 AM
How do I adjust the phosphate levels? I have green water Yodlem Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 04-05-2007 06:26 PM
Can't adjust my water parameters Jdills1347 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 07-29-2004 11:52 AM
water parameters jimmyhong7 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 02-13-2004 02:06 PM
water parameters darcy_peer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 11-02-2002 11:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.