please help me tune my skimmer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dropped

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hi everyone..i have a no-name skimmer that came with no instructions. i'm using it in a 65g tank with a 20g sump/refuge with 75lbs of LR. here is a picture of it http://www.aqua-macro.com/skimmer/skimmer-product-004.htm

i've never used a skimmer before, so i have some q's. how much skimmate should this be producing? the first day i ran this skimmer, i produced 1 cup in about 1 hour...mostly liquid. production has slowly dropped off to about 1 inch of liquid per day.

I then started to fool with the knob on the return, and saw that it adjusts the foam level in the riser. where should i have the level of foam to be most effective?

also, when i first plug the skimmer in, the bubbles always rush up the riser and about an inch of liquid spills over into the cup...production then slows down and i always have to adjust it...is this normal?

should i just set it while the skimmer is running and then leave it, even on startup? or does it always need adjusting?

thanks

I would start it up and then afjust so that the bubbles are very very very slowly coming over the top into the cup. If you get too much bubbles into the cup it will spill over, you will need to turn it down some more. It will take a good week or two just to get it setup and broke in. Skimmers need a short breakin period to work effectively. After about a week or so you will begin to see brown/green stuff starting to collect in the collection cup. This is a sign that it is working properly.

Remember, that when you empty the collection cup after a while, don't go to scrubbing it clean because you will have to go through the breakin period again. I completely clean mine once every 3 months, other than that I just empty the cup.