Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-18-2003, 01:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Gallatin TN
Posts: 15
Plenum questions

I am still researching/reading before setting up my 46 bowfront. I have read up on using a DIY plenum, i.e- egg crate, pvc and screen material, to create an anaerobic zone for ammonia control in a dsb. Does anyone have a success story with using a plenum, or do you revile the thought? Why or why not. Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
cashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 08:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 64
I personally don't know very many people that use plenums. I have, however, discovered that this is a debateable topic (such as DSBs). You will find opinions on why you should and shouldn't use one. I plan on a DSB in my 120 because the research I have done and I'm most comfortable with one. IMO, you should do what YOU feel comfortable doing and it seems like you are researching all about plenums and that is good. Let us know what you decide. Hopefully, you will get a response from someone using a plenum.
__________________

__________________
~Nikki~

http://www.reeffrontiers.com
NaH2O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 02:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norcal
Posts: 438
I havent used one but i plan on trying it in my next reef.
__________________
I never thought you would, but always knew you could.
biotoxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 11:43 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: grand rapids mi
Posts: 143
I have (approx) 4" sand bed with fine grain ooltic sand in my FO 55. I over feed, and I rarely do water changes on that tank other than top-offs.

Nitrates are 0, and have been since about 3 months after the tank finished cycling.

Adding a plenum would only decrease the volume of space in the tank I use for fish and other show animals. Take from my response what you will.
__________________
wseaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
plenum

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plenum construction JonnyKhan DIY Projects 9 08-27-2008 05:01 PM
Why ditch the Plenum? bj5z25 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-01-2005 01:31 PM
Plenum Research toddwess Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 02-17-2004 09:45 AM
Plenum problem?? sacramentofish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 21 01-09-2004 09:26 PM
Plenum??? Yes or No? GOMSU79 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-22-2003 11:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.