Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-30-2012, 01:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Uncle Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 297
Power filter enough?

At 1 of my LFS they set up a tank with just a power filter. Is it possible to run a SW tank with just that for equipment? I think it's a 20 or 29 gallon. I've always been too chicken to try SW but would try it if I don't have too throw a lot of money at it. please don't take last comment as an insult to SW keepers. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
"Gold is where you find it"
Uncle Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 01:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 404
I am following because someday I am going to try to do just that: run a small salt water tank like a fresh water. No expenisve rock, no power heads...just fish, decorations, and salt water. It is not ideal but I have been reading a lot and feel like if I do weekly water changes and don't overstock that a simple salt tank will work. Haven't tried it yet, so can't say if I am right or wrong.

So I am interested in knowing if anyone has ever done it this way. Hope you get someone to answer.
__________________

__________________
twoodrough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 02:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Uncle Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 297
The LFS has the tank with some rock and some damsels, even an anemone, very cool.
__________________
"Gold is where you find it"
Uncle Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 11:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Uncle Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 297
I thought this site was called "aquarium advice"?
__________________
"Gold is where you find it"
Uncle Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 11:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Ftfunnative's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 118
It will work. That is how all the bio cubes and jbj nano cubes work. It is basically a power filter In the back compartments. Good luck.
__________________
Ftfunnative is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 10:39 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Uncle Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 297
Baffled that there hasn't been much response to my question.......
__________________
"Gold is where you find it"
Uncle Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:02 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
You'd want the filter to have a very high flow compared to what you can use in freshwater. Target 20 times the tank volume per hour or larger. One thing I would NOT skimp on is pure freshwater to mix with your salt. Doing so almost inevitably will lead to an ugly nuisance algae outbreak down the line. This is far easier to prevent than eliminate after the fact.
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:12 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 79
I think for a 20g-29 if you got like an ac110 you probably could do just a hob filter only, but you would want at least some live rock like 10lbs min for some bio filtration. also, their is a reason he keeps devil fish in there. they don't die. lol
__________________
sim1killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:57 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Yes you can use just a HOB The idea with using LR is to add surface area for the BB Without it you'll need to to do a PWC a lot more than 1-2 times a month to keep the nitrAtes down
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:49 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JustinKBreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Beaumont, CA
Posts: 512
It should work. I would still use live rock in the tank to grow more beneficial bacteria.
__________________

__________________
JustinKBreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.