Power Head Filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PurplePolyp

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey everyone. I am new to owning a saltwater tank. I have had several fish tanks before but this is my first go at a SW. My current tank set up is a 55 gallon tank with two Emporer 280 Biowheel filters and a CoralLife 10000K 54W T5 HO light running on a 10-hour cycle. In the tank I have 105 pounds of live rock, A purple Zoa Button Polyp, and two damsels to help get the water stable. I am headed today to purchase a Power Head filter to create some currents in the water and I was wondering how much power I need to get from the filter in my tank. Also, what kind of on/off cycle will I need to run it on? Thanks you for all the help.

I also have a 55 gallon. I just recently purchased a maxi-jet pro 1200 which gives off 1300 gph. To save a lot of money, I'd buy it off like amazon it eBay cuz stores overcharge twit powerheads. Got mine for $20 and at petco it cost $80.

IMO, those bio wheels are going to be grossly insufficient for 55 gal. I have a 55 and have a flyval fx5, which is a beastly filter. You're going to have serious issues w water quality with those. You won't be able to put much in there (maybe just a damsel) until you step up your filter game. Water quality is EVERYTHING.