Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-06-2004, 08:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to tbagg2001
power heads

i have a 75 gal and have the sand and mixed water in it. After setting just the water and sand up it got extremely cloudy and i knew this would happen and that it would settle, and it did. So after it had settled and the water was nice and clear i recieved my power heads, 3 maxi-jet 1200's. So i setup the Phs 1 in each front coner aimed up and towards the back middle of the tank and one on the right back aimed across the back of the tank, next thing i know the water is just as cloudy as when i added the water to the sand. Is this normal? i figured it would settle but havent noticed much change since yesterday and was planning to get my LR soon.
__________________

__________________
tbagg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 09:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 747
it takes a while, but when enough bacteria grows on the sand it will settle
__________________

__________________
saltcreep1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2004, 09:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to tbagg2001
okay well thank you for the advice and i'll just have put the LR in, cycle the tank and what not then re-arrange the LR after the water clears up. :|
__________________
tbagg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 12:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norcal
Posts: 438
If you have very fine sand like oolitic or aragonite, it will be cloudy for the first few days. After the sand has settled it wont kick up as bad again. During that time leave your powerheads off and just let it calm down.
__________________
I never thought you would, but always knew you could.
biotoxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 12:51 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
If you have a filter running like a sump or wet/dry youc ould put some filter floss in the waters path to help filter out the sand particles.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 1,091
Send a message via AIM to WarOrks15 Send a message via MSN to WarOrks15
I had one of the same problems. I had my tank set up and the filter running but no salt in the water and i had let the system run for about 3 days and the dust had still not settled out of the water. i added the salt and the skimmer when to work and made the bubbles get to the collection cup. the water had cleared up in about 3 hours. (before when i had no salt in the water the skimmer did not make bubbles make it in the the cup. i did not change the air intake after i added the salt) hope this helps.
__________________
A 46 gal bow front (Soft coral) reef tank with a 10 gal sump. And a 30 gal (SPS and Clam) reef tank hooked up to the sump of the 46 so they share water.
WarOrks15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 08:58 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to tbagg2001
well i had salt in the water and a mixture of sand and cc (mostly CC) in for the substrate, it settled and i had a hob running just for current. The sand settled and the water was clear when i added my phs. They kicked up the sand again. Its now been a day or two and its cleared up a little. I figured it would but was worried since it was clear when the phs went in that they would continue to stir things up and the sand would have a problem settling. But hopefully it will clear up after a few more days.
__________________

__________________
tbagg2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power heads for 55 divedeep1689 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 08-10-2009 12:22 AM
Power heads ojmenard Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-06-2009 01:27 PM
Power heads divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 05-30-2004 01:00 PM
looking for some power heads ttimmer10 Archive 1 03-26-2004 07:30 PM
power sweep power heads ohio reefer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 03-08-2004 02:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.